Page 1 of 3
Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 3:00 pm
by PayasoPrince
Hello!
When my player walks up to an NPC and starts a conversation with the ProximitySelector, my CharacterController is disabled perfectly fine.
However, when I start a conversation track in Timeline, the CharacterController stays enabled and the player can still move. How can I disable this?
Edit: Worth noting, I already have an On Conversation Start() event for the player to disable the character controller.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 3:52 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Make sure the player GameObject is assigned to the StartConversation track. This way it will be used as the conversation actor and will receive the OnConversationStart() and OnConversationEnd() events.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 4:04 pm
by PayasoPrince
thanks for the response, Tony.
Sorry if its obvious and I'm ignorant, but where would I assign a gameobject to a conversation track?
Could you provide a SS?
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 4:12 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Like this:
- timelinePlayerActor.png (54.01 KiB) Viewed 781 times
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 4:41 pm
by PayasoPrince
Hmm, I thought as much.
For some reason I'm unable to drag my player gameobject onto the conversation track. I also can't drag it into the conversant field
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 9:16 pm
by Tony Li
I don't know why you wouldn't be able to assign a GameObject to either of those fields. Is it a GameObject in the scene or a prefab?
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 10:58 pm
by PayasoPrince
I think this might potentially be a bug?
I disabled the Timeline Manager and when I reenabled it It went from the generic "Conversation Track" to "None" like it was expecting a gameobject. I was then able to add a game object and it automatically had the conversant. I was able to replicate this a few times because it kept switching back to "Conversation Track".
For now, it's keeping the gameobject set on the conversation track. The problem is that it is now using the default UI and ignoring the UI I have set here:
Do I need to set the UI for every actor or something?
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 9:07 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
That sounds like a bug in Timeline. Make sure you're using the latest version of the Timeline package.
You don't need to set the UI for every actor, and don't even know how you'd do that except by adding an Override Dialogue UI component.
Unless you're explicitly overriding the dialogue UI, it should use the dialogue UI assigned to the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Dialogue UI field.
Some ways the dialogue UI might be overridden:
- Using the wrong Dialogue Manager GameObject. If you're coming in from a scene with a non-customized copy of the Dialogue Manager, it will survive scene changes and replace your customized Dialogue Manager. Make sure the first Dialogue Manager in play is the correct one.
- Adding an Override Dialogue UI or Override Display Settings component to either primary participant.
- Adding a Dialogue Actor to any actor in the conversation and assigning a non-default subtitle panel. This will only affect the display of subtitles for that actor.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 9:51 am
by PayasoPrince
Hi, Tony,
I triple checked everything and none of those things should be occurring.
I DID notice that I now get an error when I hit continue now.
I'm guessing this has something to do with it.
The playable director is enabled and stays enabled through the playable Timeline.
I removed my playable director and created a brand new one and im still getting this error.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 9:55 am
by Tony Li
Is a timeline asset assigned to your PlayableDirector? Do you have another GameObject with a PlayableDirector and the same GameObject name?