Page 1 of 1

quick noob question

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:42 am
by CristalSonic
Hi all,
how can I set the dialog to only advance with button presses ? ( I am sure I am over looking that)
other wise is there a list of variable uses any were ?
things like number are obvious. but I would like to see examples of things like Item or location.

Re: quick noob question

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 10:07 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
CristalSonic wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:42 amhow can I set the dialog to only advance with button presses ?
Inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject. Change the Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Continue Button dropdown to Always.
CristalSonic wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:42 amother wise is there a list of variable uses any were ?
things like number are obvious. but I would like to see examples of things like Item or location.
You can view variables' runtime values in the Dialogue Editor's Watches section or the separate Variable View window. The Variable View only shows variables -- that is, things you've added in the Dialogue Editor's Variables section. The Watches section can show item field values, quest field values, etc., too.

Re: quick noob question

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 10:35 am
by CristalSonic
that was a quick response, thanks

I was hoping for use case examples, as I like to get a feel for their purpose.
such as why is there an Item data type when I can just have a counter for a collectable item etc.

Re: quick noob question

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 11:56 am
by Tony Li
The real reason is because the Dialogue System uses the same data structure as an authoring application called Chat Mapper.

Chat Mapper has items and locations, so the Dialogue System has items and locations. The Dialogue System doesn't do anything with items or locations, but it does repurpose the Items section to also use them for quests.

Most designers don't do anything with locations or items except use the Items section for quests.

Variables are more handy for things like counters. Tip: You can include a '.' in a variable name to group it into a submenu. For example, you could define variables Village.Weather, Village.Population, Village.Mood, etc., and they would all be grouped in the submenu "Village".

Re: quick noob question

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2022 1:05 am
by CristalSonic
ok that makes sense, one other question.
after setting to text to not always auto play I found I could only advance with mouse clicks.
keybord and controller input does not work.

I tryed the sensor but no luck

Re: quick noob question

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2022 9:08 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Tick the Dialogue Manager GameObject's Input Device Manager component > Always Auto Focus checkbox.

If that doesn't address the problem, check the scene's EventSystem GameObject for any issues.