Page 1 of 1

Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:50 pm
by PeterParked
I'm starting a fresh project in Unity with Dialogue System. When I use the Articy:Draft converter, following the instructions here: http://www.pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_s ... erter.html

I'm getting these errors:

Code: Select all

Couldn't create asset file!
UnityEditor.AssetDatabase:CreateAsset(Object, String)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:LoadOrCreateDatabase(String)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:ConvertArticyProject()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:DrawConvertButton()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:DrawConversionButtons()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:OnGUI()
UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()

Code: Select all

UnityException: Creating asset at path  failed.
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.LoadOrCreateDatabase (System.String filename)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.ConvertArticyProject ()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.DrawConvertButton ()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.DrawConversionButtons ()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.OnGUI ()
System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono-runtime-and-classlibs/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
I've Googled the error a little bit, and pulled up this information that may or may not be related:
Did you know that CreateAsset must take a path relative to the project? And that it'll barf with the above abominable generic errors if you give it an absolute path?

Re: Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:06 pm
by PeterParked
Turns out the problem was that the directory listed in Step 6 here didn't yet exist:

http://www.pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_s ... erter.html
For Save To, select the folder where you want the dialogue database to be created.
That folder has to exist already. Oh, user error, you make life interesting.

Re: Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:02 pm
by Tony Li
Sorry, oversight on my part. The next release will warn you beforehand if the folder doesn't exist.