Page 1 of 2
Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 10:29 am
by eeeli
Hello,
I have a few questions relating to setting up and using multiple dialogue UI's in a single scene.
1. How to skip PC subtitles for some dialogue UI but not others. There's a dialogue UI which simulates SMS messages, and needs the PC subtitles to appear in order to record them in the text chat. However, for non-text messaging I don't want the PC subtitles to appear because they're redundant. I see how to toggle the option in the master Dialogue Manager, but I can't find a setting that's specific to individual Dialogue UIs.
2. How to set it up such that the player's response menu is in one Dialogue UI, but the NPC's subtitles are in another. In this situation I want to model a phone call on an in game phone. Previously the player's responses have all been in the phone screen - which is a dialogue UI. However, I'd like it to be that the player's responses appear over-layed in a canvas, outside of the phone, and that the phone only contains the NPC subtitles.
Thanks so much in advance!
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 11:21 am
by Tony Li
eeeli wrote: ↑Wed Jan 26, 2022 10:29 am1. How to skip PC subtitles for some dialogue UI but not others. There's a dialogue UI which simulates SMS messages, and needs the PC subtitles to appear in order to record them in the text chat. However, for non-text messaging I don't want the PC subtitles to appear because they're redundant. I see how to toggle the option in the master Dialogue Manager, but I can't find a setting that's specific to individual Dialogue UIs.
There are two ways to do this:
1. In the Dialogue Editor, inspect the conversation's properties. Tick Override Display Settings > Subtitle Settings. Then show PC subtitles.
2. Or add an
Override Display Settings component to one of the primary participant GameObjects (e.g., Dialogue System Trigger's Conversation Actor or Conversation Conversant). This lets you use an entirely different set of Display Settings from the ones on the Dialogue Manager.
eeeli wrote: ↑Wed Jan 26, 2022 10:29 am2. How to set it up such that the player's response menu is in one Dialogue UI, but the NPC's subtitles are in another. In this situation I want to model a phone call on an in game phone. Previously the player's responses have all been in the phone screen - which is a dialogue UI. However, I'd like it to be that the player's responses appear over-layed in a canvas, outside of the phone, and that the phone only contains the NPC subtitles.
For any given conversation, the subtitle panels and response menu must be in the same dialogue UI -- that is, the dialoge UI's Standard Dialogue UI component must point to the subtitle panels and response menu used in the conversation. However, those subtitle panels and response menu can be in different Canvases.
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 11:49 am
by eeeli
Hi Tony,
Thanks for the quick reply!
1. I've got it working using an Override Display Settings. Thanks! It's been a minute since I worked on this project, and I'd forgotten about the overrides.
2. Thanks! I think I understand the basic structure of how to go about setting this up now - keeping a unified reference of one Dialogue UI but splitting it out between different canvas. I think I should be good from there. Thank you!
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 11:55 am
by eeeli
I have a small follow up question, not related to the previous inquires.
I was wondering if there's a way to sort conversations in the Dialogue Editor alphabetically. There's starting to become a decent amount of conversations, and sifting through them can be a little time consuming.
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 1:19 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Yes. In the Dialogue Editor's Conversations section, select Menu > Sort > By Title.
Also, use forward slashes to group your conversations into submenus.
You can also manually reorder conversations by selecting Menu > Outline Mode. This will switch from a node-based canvas to a reorderable list of conversation titles.
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 1:55 pm
by eeeli
Amazing! That's perfect
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 2:10 pm
by Tony Li
Glad to help!
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 3:17 pm
by eeeli
Hi Tony,
Another follow up question, as I'm running into a different issue while implementing these dialogue UI's.
In my response menu the scroll bar doesn't move to focus on the currently selected response. I'm using the Standard Dialogue UI setup, with minor visual tweaks currently - text changes and swapping out background sprites.
The responses are being selected as I'd expect - using keyboard or gamepad controls, but the scrollbar doesn't seem to update as new responses are selected. Any help would be appreciated.
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 3:23 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
The Menu Framework package on the
Dialogue System Extras page has a ScrollToMe script. You can import that script (you don't have to import the entire Menu Framework) and add it to your response button. When a response button is selected (focused), it will automatically scroll the scrollbar so that button is in view.
Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 3:38 pm
by eeeli
Brilliant! Worked perfectly. As always thank you so much for the help