Page 1 of 1
Moving During Cutscene / Dialogue (Invector)
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2021 1:41 am
by DeidreReay
Using Invector and Cinemachine integrations. Hoping to be able during a few specific cutscenes able to move around . Cant seem to figure it our. Any ideas?
Re: Moving During Cutscene / Dialogue (Invector)
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2021 8:07 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
Does the cutscene sequence happen during a conversation?
If so, then if your player GameObject has a Dialogue System Invector Bridge component, it will pause the player so it can't move around.
To allow the player to move around during some part of the conversation, call the UnpauseCharacter() method on the player. You can use the
SendMessage() sequencer command or a
scene event. Here's an example using SendMessage():
- unpauseInvector.png (30.64 KiB) Viewed 509 times
Since the player is the speaker of both of those lines, I sent the message to the speaker. If the player was the listener (e.g., on a gray node), I would have used this instead:
Code: Select all
SendMessage(UnpausePlayer, , listener)
The middle node (spoken by the NPC) waits for a sequencer message "GotWrench". I'm assuming in this example that, when the player picks up the wrench, this C# code runs to send that message to the Dialogue System's sequencer:
Re: Moving During Cutscene / Dialogue (Invector)
Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2022 9:48 pm
by DeidreReay
Thank you this is working out great. Have another bit confusing question on top of this..
Using timeline and the actual invector player and dialogue. Dialogue sequence starts a timeline and on that timeline has the actual invector player supposed to do an animation... The animation offsets though never seem to work and that animation always plays right where the invector player is standing (Hoping to have animation que off at exact location).. ANY IDEAS?? (i know this is maybe more on the timeline or invector side then dialogue system, but everyone seems to be at a loss here..)
Re: Moving During Cutscene / Dialogue (Invector)
Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2022 10:28 pm
by Tony Li
This is probably a Timeline issue, not specifically related to Invector or the Dialogue System. In the
Animation track properties, try setting Track Offsets to Apply Scene Offsets. If that doesn't work, experiment with the other settings.