Page 1 of 1

Save System and content Update

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:05 am
by Shadowsun
Hello there,

I have a problem with how the saves and content updates works.

I use Articy Draft3, Unity 2019.4 and the latest version of Dialogue System.

Everything is working fine with the saves, with the dialogues, etc. But concerning the production of the game and its updates, everytime I create new variables and variables sets in Articy, they correctly load in the DS database but not in the existing saves. Making the variable inexistant in the watcher once the save slot is loaded and creating problems/bugs.

To give more context, our game is cut in 3 acts. We released the first one on Steam. The second is in preparation.
Everytime I create new variables and update the content, I have to restart a new save in order to have those variables in.

I cannot afford to tell our players to restart a new game everytime we update the content (with a total of 500k words it's a bit problematic for them).

As I saw that the latests versions of DS include a "Version" system I updated it (and thus discovered the new features that are cool!) but I can't figure how it works or if I have to manually rewrite how the datas and variables are processed between versions.

Have a nice day!

Re: Save System and content Update

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 8:38 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

You don't need to use the Save System's version number for this. Just make sure the Dialogue Manager GameObject's Persistent Data Settings > Initialize New Variables checkbox is ticked. This checkbox will make sure that new variables and quests are initialized to their database values when you load an old saved game.

You can use the Save System's version value if you need to do something more than just initialize new variables and quests. Whenever you save a game, the Save System's current version value is included in the saved game data. When you load a game, you can check SaveSystem.currentSavedGameData.version.

Re: Save System and content Update

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:31 am
by Shadowsun
Oh gosh, I didn't even notice that we uncheck that boolean ...
Thanks a lot, it seems to have solved the issue.

Regarding SaveSystem.currentSavedGameData.version, I might need to use it once we refactor more so it's still nice to have it!

Thanks Tony you saved my sprint!

Re: Save System and content Update

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 11:16 am
by Tony Li
Happy to help!