SetPanel does not work as expected.

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

SetPanel does not work as expected.

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello,

I have below Sequence commands.

Code: Select all

SetActive(GameObject_Yuna_Actor, true);
SetPanel(Yuna, 7)@0.5;
Continue()@1;
GameObject_Yuna_Actor was deactivated in default.
It does not set Actor Yuna to use panel 7.

Debug Info tells me it has set the panel to 7 before it goes to the next line(node).
The Dialogue Actor component also changed to Panel 7 but not the actual UI.

If GameObject_Yuna_Actor was activated in default, then it works.

What am I missing here?


* Yuna is a dialogue actor name already registered.
* GameObject_Yuna_Actor is a gameObject in the scene with DialogueActor component on it.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetPanel does not work as expected.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

I can reproduce this. I'll post a fix later today.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetPanel does not work as expected.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The fix, if possible, is to assign GameObject_Yuna_Actor to the Dialogue System Trigger's Conversation Actor or Conversation Conversant field, whichever is appropriate.

Otherwise, since GameObject_Yuna_Actor is not active when the conversation starts, it will not be associated with the conversation. For example, if you leave the Dialogue System Trigger's Conversation Conversant field unassigned, it will use the Dialogue System Trigger's GameObject.

If you can't do that, this patch should handle it:

DS_SequencerPatch_2021-10-24.unitypackage
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: SetPanel does not work as expected.

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello,

Thank you for the fix.

I have handsful amount of dialogue scenes with 4 actors and, based on the player's prior choices, only 1 of them will appear.
So I have all 4 of them deactivated and activated through the dialogue system's custom Sequence command which happens during the dialogue.

The patch works for my case now.

Would this be included for an official version next update?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetPanel does not work as expected.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes. This will be in version 2.2.22.
Post Reply