Page 1 of 1

Database reference removed from AC action list + dialogue skip bug?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 5:09 am
by KayVen
Hello!
I am using DS in combination with Adventure creator. Lately, I have noticed that for some reason, a referenced database gets removed from an action list upon simply saving, closing and then reopening the scene. Instead, the database reference is replaced by a conversation title.
We are currently using only one database, but I have no idea what could be causing this. Perhaps it could be an AC issue too, no clue :(

Another thing that I've noticed:
Instead of a continue button, I use a key input that allows the player to skip the dialogue line. Currently, I also use a forced response menu, which does not use a continue button and any kind of skip feature.
This might not be why is this happening, but I've noticed that when I use the skip key too fast, the conversation (and all conversations started after that point) then keeps skipping by itself. Almost as if the default delay sequence stopped working - and this then applies to response menus too. I'm not entirely sure where to go from with this issue, so I would be very grateful for any ideas.
Thanks!

Re: Database reference removed from AC action list + dialogue skip bug?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 8:21 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
KayVen wrote: Thu Aug 12, 2021 5:09 amI am using DS in combination with Adventure creator. Lately, I have noticed that for some reason, a referenced database gets removed from an action list upon simply saving, closing and then reopening the scene. Instead, the database reference is replaced by a conversation title.
We are currently using only one database, but I have no idea what could be causing this. Perhaps it could be an AC issue too, no clue :(
The action doesn't save the assigned reference database since it isn't needed at runtime.
If your scene has a Dialogue Manager GameObject, when you inspect the action it will use the Dialogue Manager's Initial Database for the reference database. Otherwise you can manually assign any database (I understand you have only one) to populate the dropdown(s) with the database's content. The assignment will only last while the scene is open in the inspector since there's no need to take up memory saving it.
KayVen wrote: Thu Aug 12, 2021 5:09 amInstead of a continue button, I use a key input that allows the player to skip the dialogue line. Currently, I also use a forced response menu, which does not use a continue button and any kind of skip feature.
This might not be why is this happening, but I've noticed that when I use the skip key too fast, the conversation (and all conversations started after that point) then keeps skipping by itself. Almost as if the default delay sequence stopped working - and this then applies to response menus too.
Temporarily add a ShowGameState component to the scene. This utility component will show the AC game state. When you press the key too fast, does it end up in the wrong state?

How have you configured the key input? If you're using a script, is it possible that the script got into an unintended state?

Re: Database reference removed from AC action list + dialogue skip bug?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 9:34 am
by KayVen
Hi Tony!
The action doesn't save the assigned reference database since it isn't needed at runtime.
I see! We recently started using subscenes so the dialogue manager prefab got moved from individual subscenes, so it caused some confusion :') Thanks for clarifying.
Temporarily add a ShowGameState component to the scene. This utility component will show the AC game state. When you press the key too fast, does it end up in the wrong state?
Yes, it does! When I press the key too fast, it ends up in the DialogOptions state. When I cancel the interaction, in works, but when I start a new one, the gamestate stays stuck at cutscene with a response menu quickly flashing by.
How have you configured the key input?
For testing purposes, I simply assigned the key with the UI button key trigger component on the continue button gameobject. I'm not entirely sure how/if to set it up more properly. Currently, the same way is used for PC subtitles and NPC subtitles, while continue button for NPC only has the button trigger, and for PC acts as a regular button.

Re: Database reference removed from AC action list + dialogue skip bug?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 9:53 am
by Tony Li
What versions of Unity, Adventure Creator, and the Dialogue System are you using? If you're not using the latest DS Adventure Creator integration, can you back up your project, update to the latest, and test it again? (Make a backup first. If you're using a much older version of AC, it's possible that the newer integration that's made for the latest AC won't be compatible.)

Also, what is the Adventure Creator Bridge component's 'Use Dialog State' dropdown set to?

Re: Database reference removed from AC action list + dialogue skip bug?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 10:00 am
by KayVen
Everything should be up to date - Unity 2020.3.15f2 LTS, AC v1.73.8 and DS 2.2.18.

The "Use Dialogue State" dropdown is currently set to "If player involved".

Re: Database reference removed from AC action list + dialogue skip bug?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 2:05 pm
by Tony Li
What key are you using in your UI Button Key Trigger? Maybe it's conflicting with something else.

Would it be possible for you to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?