Page 1 of 1

Changing input to select dialogue options

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:32 pm
by EWalk13
Hi, for our game we are using a Xbox 360 controller. I was wondering how to map the xbox buttons to move through and select the dialogue options that appear instead of using the mouse and button clicks. Hopefully someone has an answer. If someone could respond ASAP because we are on a deadline by the end of today. Thank You!

Re: Changing input to select dialogue options

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:12 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Which GUI system are you using?

If you're using Unity UI, set up navigation as described here. Then tick Auto Focus as described here.

If you're using legacy Unity GUI, see here.

If you're using NGUI, use UIKeyNavigation.

Re: Changing input to select dialogue options

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 7:48 pm
by appl044
Thank you, I think you have a great product, I am looking forward to using it when I get a basic version running under xbox one.

I experienced the same challenge for XBOX One. So, I tried using legacy Unity GUI, from your URL
http://pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_syste ... eyboardNav

Input Manager: https://www.dropbox.com/s/meqpooom2zuuz ... r.png?dl=0
ResponsePanel: https://www.dropbox.com/s/sehmly3ccqhwz ... l.png?dl=0
It does not auto select the first item when running under preview or xbox, and I cannot see where i can set that.
Also, the "B" button does not select in the preview window. (tried "B" and "b" in the input manager.)
Any thoughts, because I cannot get this to work under xbox ?
Mike

Re: Changing input to select dialogue options

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:50 pm
by Tony Li
Hi Mike,

I see you added an instance of the Sci-fi Dialogue UI to your scene. Make sure to assign this instance to the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Dialogue UI field. Also, if you want the instance to persist across scene changes along with your Dialogue Manager, make it a child of the Dialogue Manager.

The "B" assigned to the Click field refers to the keyboard's B key (in Unity, KeyCode.B).

The Click Button field is where you'll assign a button name that you've defined in the Input Manager. Your screenshot shows that the Click Button field is currently "Fire1". In the Input Manager, "Fire1" is mapped to joystick button 0 (the gamepad's A button) and the keyboard's B key.

"Fire2" is mapped to the gamepad's B button by default. If you want this button to select responses, change Click Button to "Fire2".

If that doesn't help, please feel free to send me an example scene or steps to reproduce the issue. I'll be happy to take a look.

Re: Changing input to select dialogue options

Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:02 pm
by appl044
Seem like I had some extra entries within the Unity Input panel, which must have been causing it to be disabled. It works now, thank you!

Re: Changing input to select dialogue options

Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:03 pm
by Tony Li
Awesome, glad it's working!