[SOLVED] PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
miguelfanclub
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:09 pm

[SOLVED] PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by miguelfanclub »

Im trying to create a dialogue in wich the Actor can have several options but those options are not the actual Dialogue that has to be displayed.
Like some adventures nowadays do, I want to be able that the actor select options like "Ironic" answer "Honest" answer etc. After selecting one of those, you see what actually the Actor wants to say.

Using the PC Reminder does not really work as long as there is a way to just to use it when needed.

What would be the best practice to achieve that?

Thanks!
Last edited by miguelfanclub on Sat Dec 19, 2015 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21070
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Miguel,

When you're editing your conversation in the dialogue database, put the option in the Menu Text field. Put the actual dialogue in the Dialogue Text field.

Then tick the Dialogue Manager's Show PC Subtitles During Line checkbox.
miguelfanclub
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by miguelfanclub »

Thanks Tony, it works as always.... but doing so I will always have the PC reminder there all the time. I want just to show it when Menu Text And Dialogue Text field are not the same.

Is that possible?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21070
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by Tony Li »

Try this:

1. On the Dialogue Manager, set the Default Player Sequence to:

Code: Select all

None()
2. In any dialogue entry where Menu Text and Dialogue Text are not the same, set the Sequence to:

Code: Select all

Delay({{end}})
miguelfanclub
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by miguelfanclub »

Doesnt seems to work.
Do I still need to mark the Show PC Subtitles During Line?

This is my setup:


Dialogue Manager
Image

Dialogue Entry
Image
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21070
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by Tony Li »

Here's an example: MenuTextTest.unitypackage

Yes, you still need to tick Show PC Subtitles During Line.

What part isn't working?

Also, in your dialogue UI, make sure the UI elements in the PC Subtitle section are assigned.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21070
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by Tony Li »

The solution was to change the Dialogue Manager's Default Player Sequence to:

Code: Select all

SendMessage(OnContinue,,Dialogue Manager,broadcast)
The dialogue UI uses a continue button. This sequence makes it bypass the continue button by default for player lines, whereas the previous "None()" sequence waits for the continue button, which allows the line to play through the typewriter.
miguelfanclub
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: PC Reminder Subtitle only when needed

Post by miguelfanclub »

Now it works, thanks!
Post Reply