Node state defaulting to active

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for Quest Machine.
Post Reply
Keeko
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 8:08 pm

Node state defaulting to active

Post by Keeko »

I am trying to do something like this:
Screenshot 2021-02-02 143556.png
Screenshot 2021-02-02 143556.png (19.66 KiB) Viewed 499 times
Each of the condition nodes should be inactive until I activate them via commands from the dialogue system, however when i give the quest to the player all of these nodes appear to be active. Each of these conditional tasks can be given in any order but the player can only have one at a time. How do I stop them from automatically becoming active?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Node state defaulting to active

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Whenever a quest starts, the Start node becomes active and then immediately true.

Whenever a node's state becomes true, it sets all of its children's states to active.

Add nodes that wait until they're manually activated instead:

qmManuallyActivateBranches.png
qmManuallyActivateBranches.png (16.08 KiB) Viewed 496 times

Note also that I added a node below the 3 collection nodes. This node has a condition that all 3 parent nodes are true. Otherwise, as soon as one of the collection nodes were to become true, it would set the Success node to active. Whenever a Success node becomes active, it immediately sets itself true.
Keeko
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 8:08 pm

Re: Node state defaulting to active

Post by Keeko »

Brilliant, thank you!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Node state defaulting to active

Post by Tony Li »

Happy to help! :-)
Post Reply