Page 1 of 2
Update Actor's name
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2020 4:02 pm
by Mahaut
Hello,
It's me again
I have some troubles with character names: I would like to update Actor names but it does not seem to work.
This is my situation:
At the beginning the
Displayed name of the Conversant is "Unknown", the corresponding
actor name is "TheGirl".
Then, I use this to modify, as a "script" in a dialogue node:
"Actor["TheGirl"].Display_Name = "Anna""
But here, I have two issues:
1/ the Actor name is still "Unknown" in the UI (as I choose to display the Actor's name in a special box),
2/ in the text, while I use "
Hello [var=TheGirl]" (or
Hello [var=Conversant] ) are still "unknown" or "nil".
Because it seems to be very basic, I assume that I'm missing something obvious. Could you help me, telling me why the variable is not updated ?
Thanks!
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2020 5:06 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Please see the "Discover Name Example" on the
Dialogue System Extras page. This shows how to change the name and have it immediately reflected in the UI. (The active conversation caches the characters' names, so you need to update the cache.)
To include the actor's Display Name, use: "Hello [lua(Actor["TheGirl"].Display_Name)]."
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:47 pm
by Mahaut
Thank you, it works really well
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:54 pm
by Tony Li
Happy to help!
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:57 am
by Mahaut
I have another question
(I don't know if you prefer us to create a special topic for each subject).
My Situation: I use the Textline UI. After the first conversation ends, I use a Playmaker fonction to trigger a button which allows the player to start a new conversation.
I would like to know if is possible to add this conversation (the second one) directly on the bottom of the previous conversation. Like "keeping an history of the first conversation".
Currently, once a conversation ends, the conversation is removed.
Another bonus question: I trigger this button through a FSM command on the Dialogue Sytem Trigger: it works well if I uncheck "Dont deactive the Main Panel" (in the Textline UI), but if the checkbox is cheked, then the button appears grey-out. Do you know why?
Thank you for all your replies, and sorry for all these questions
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:22 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
Mahaut wrote: ↑Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:57 amMy Situation: I use the Textline UI. After the first conversation ends, I use a Playmaker fonction to trigger a button which allows the player to start a new conversation.
I would like to know if is possible to add this conversation (the second one) directly on the bottom of the previous conversation. Like "keeping an history of the first conversation".
Currently, once a conversation ends, the conversation is removed.
If you can link the first conversation to the second one, it can continue to run as one conversation. To link one conversation to another in the Dialogue Editor, inspect the last node of the first conversation. From "Links To:", select "(Another Conversation)".
If you can't do that, you'll need to modify the Textline UI code or write your own replacement.
Mahaut wrote: ↑Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:57 amAnother bonus question: I trigger this button through a FSM command on the Dialogue Sytem Trigger: it works well if I uncheck "Dont deactive the Main Panel" (in the Textline UI), but if the checkbox is cheked, then the button appears grey-out. Do you know why?
Sorry, I don't have enough details to provide an answer. But if the button is inside the main panel, then it should disappear when the dialogue UI deactivates the main panel.
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:32 am
by Mahaut
If you can't do that, you'll need to modify the Textline UI code or write your own replacement.
I see, I will try, thank you
Sorry, I don't have enough details to provide an answer. But if the button is inside the main panel, then it should disappear when the dialogue UI deactivates the main panel.
In fact, I try to put the Button in several places but none works haha. Never mind, I find something, exploring Playmaker
Another very quick question: I've read that a TextMesh Pro package exists (with a demo), but I can't find it. Do you now if it still exist somewhere?
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 1:37 pm
by Tony Li
TextMesh Pro integration is built into the Dialogue System. You don't have to import any packages. Instead, just
turn on TextMesh Pro Support.
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:16 pm
by Mahaut
Oh sorry, I forgot to say thank you
Re: Update Actor's name
Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:40 pm
by Tony Li
No problem; happy to help!