Page 1 of 3
Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 5:11 pm
by Adventure4Life
Hi,
I'm using Dialogue system with Adventure creator
added Dialogue System Saver and Remember Dialogue System (with constant Id set to manual with id 99999)
to Persistent Engine of AC.
I'm saving the game using Adventure creator
but when I'm loading it back I see the dialogues entires not in
the same state as when I saved them.
It looks like they are in the last state I've played, and not when the game being saved.
images attached of related properties:
-AC Persistent Engine
-Dialogue Manager instance
by the way I do work with your plugin a lot, and it's very good
I'm about to launch a demo in two weeks!
Dialogue system version: 2.2.8
AC version: 1.71.8
thanks
Yakir
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:44 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
What do you mean by the dialogue entries not in the same state? Are you using SimStatus? Or do you mean something else?
Does your Dialogue Manager GameObject have a Save System component? (It's not required, but it will help me to know this information.)
Good luck with your demo launch! Do you have a website for the game?
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:12 pm
by Adventure4Life
Yes, I do use sim status, here's an example to condition of
dialogue entry using SimStatus, Variable and QuestState:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed" and (Variable["Fish_state"] == 4) and (CurrentQuestState("Pixa autorize") == "active")
so if for example I save the game before this dialogue entry selected (but shown)
then select it (which means I won't see it again)
then load the save file, I will not see it.
Now that I'm thinking on it... Is that because I'm using "Was displayed"?
If that's the case, what's the alternative?
I haven't use "Save system" compnonent.
Thanks
you can see the game here:
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 9:19 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Would you please back up your project and then update to Dialogue System version 2.2.10 or higher? Version 2.2.10 fixed a loading issue with SimStatus.
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 7:06 am
by Adventure4Life
ok, I don't see any 'check for updates' button in unity editor (which I strongly recommend to add)
when I go to unity asset store I don't see 'update' button (instead written 'Open in Unity')
even that I double checked my version is 2.2.8 through:
'Tools->Pixel Crushers->Dialogue System->Help->About'
Any link to update it manually?
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 8:33 am
by Tony Li
Even though several publishers have added 'check for updates' buttons, it's a gray area right now as to whether Unity actually allows this. So I'm following best practices and not adding it until Unity clarifies their legal docs. (I'm a member of Unity's Asset Store Publisher Advisory Board, and this is one of the questions we're seeking clarification on from their legal team.)
When you go to the Asset Store, it should say 'Update'. Are you perhaps using a Unity version older than Unity 2017.4? The Dialogue System requires 2017.4 or higher. (Technically it will work with Unity 5.6 or higher, but Unity has been urging publishers to set the minimum to 2017.4 because Unity doesn't support 5.6 any more.)
I'll PM you private download link information.
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 8:35 am
by Adventure4Life
Thanks!
I'm using unity 2020.1.2f1
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 9:40 am
by Adventure4Life
updated to the last version you sent me.
I did many tests and it's still looks like it is messed up.
I see two problems:
when save game, then select entry which has condition:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed"
1. some entry dissappear after selection and some other entries not...
2. when I load the save file which I did BEFORE selection
the entry dissappear - but it's not always happened.
maybe there's still bug exist around SimStatus (if that's the case - it's a major bug)
and maybe I don't interpret the meaning of it correctly.
can you explain exactly what "WasDisplayed" should do?
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 10:28 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
A dialogue entry node's SimStatus can be in one of three states:
- Untouched: Has not been shown in a subtitle or response menu
- Was Offered: Was shown in a response menu but not clicked
- Was Displayed: Was shown in a subtitle or clicked as a response menu button
Are you using cross-conversation links? If so, there is something to keep in mind when the conversation is on a node in conversation A that links to conversation B. At that point, since you're in conversation A, the Dialog[] table will apply to conversation A, even when you're evaluating to the conditions for the destination link to B.
However, I don't think that's the issue here since it seems to be related to saving and loading.
Can you send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 10:56 am
by Adventure4Life
I'm don't think I'm using cross-conversation links... at least not directly.
do you need the entire unity project? it's really big