Page 1 of 2

A continue button haunts.

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 4:10 pm
by aaajiao
HeyTony,

I had to use the continue button because sometimes the NPC will say several paragraphs in a row, and using the button allows the player to read it better, but I had a problem that when there is LoadLevel() in the sequence of the NPC's words, this dialogue of the scene switch is taken to the next scene and needs to be clicked to end it.


Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.22 PM.png (174.67 KiB) Viewed 891 times
Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.35 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.35 PM.png (188.34 KiB) Viewed 891 times
:D :D :D :D aaajiao

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 4:59 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Add this line to the end of the sequence:

Code: Select all

required Continue()@7.5
It will simulate a continue button click so the player doesn't have to click the continue button.

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:30 pm
by aaajiao

Code: Select all

required Continue()@7.6
Well, I tested that it needs to be executed after LoadLevel() for it to work, without interrupting LoadLevel(). :D :D :D

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:42 pm
by aaajiao
Related question, when a node-link to a new conversation has to be clicked on anyway to get to it, I tried various things ;)
Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 12.40.24 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 12.40.24 AM.png (160.43 KiB) Viewed 885 times

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:15 pm
by Tony Li
Continue() doesn't work?

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:31 am
by aaajiao
Yes, it doesn't work.
have to click on everything to jump to it. :shock:

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:27 am
by aaajiao

Code: Select all

required Continue()@7.6
There's still a hole in the logic, if I tap the continue button a couple of times in a row, the whole conversation ends before the scene jumps. :?:

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:33 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Disable the continue button until the level is loaded. Add this to the same Sequence as LoadLevel:

Code: Select all

SetContinueMode(false);
In the next node (after LoadLevel), add this to the Sequence:

Code: Select all

SetContinueMode(true);

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:12 pm
by aaajiao
Hey Tony

That's really the way to go. I changed my thinking, when the NPC speaks continuously, the first node SetContinueMode(true); the last SetContinueMode(false);
original: Restores the saved continue button mode.
I try to use it but it doesn't seem to work the way I set it up in the dialogue mannger.

Re: A continue button haunts.

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:21 pm
by aaajiao
aaajiao wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:42 pm Related question, when a node-link to a new conversation has to be clicked on anyway to get to it, I tried various things ;)
Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 12.40.24 AM.png
I've tried everything and I still have to click to load the next conversation!