Page 1 of 1
Set variable.
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:56 pm
by megadok
Hey Tony!
I would like to know how I can change the value of a variable in my database.
I have tried...
Code: Select all
myDatabase.variables[0].InitialValue = "megadok";
It work.
But i need something like this...
Code: Select all
myDatabase.setVariable("variableName")="anything";
Thank you!
Re: Set variable.
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:07 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
At runtime, variable values are stored in
Lua. Use the
DialogueLua class to get and set variables:
Code: Select all
DialogueLua.SetVariable("X", 42);
Debug.Log("X is " + DialogueLua.GetVariable("X").asInt);
Re: Set variable.
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:46 pm
by megadok
I did:
Code: Select all
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueLua.SetVariable("Alert","anything");
Code: Select all
Debug.Log("Your word is " + PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueLua.GetVariable("Alert").ToString());
Console said me:
Code: Select all
Your word is PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Lua+Result
What is the problem?
Thanks!
Re: Set variable.
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:49 pm
by megadok
Ok I solved it this way...
Code: Select all
Debug.Log("X is " + PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueLua.GetVariable("Alert").luaValue.ToString());
Thank you Tony!
Re: Set variable.
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:08 pm
by Tony Li
That will work. A shortcut is:
Code: Select all
Debug.Log("X is " + PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueLua.GetVariable("Alert").asString);