Page 1 of 1
restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:58 am
by aaajiao
I'm having trouble trying to use bolt to make a restart button, I don't know how to restart dialogue manger, I'm trying to destroy the dialogue manger, but it doesn't seem to work.
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:18 am
by aaajiao
I'm now using a method to deal with the fact that we have Root0, Roo1, specific Scene0
Root0 :setup All cross-scene objects include dialogue manager
Root1 I:t's designed to restart the game. - Destroy the dialogue manager in this scene.
Scene0 :Reload the dialogue manager in this scene, as this is the specific first scene to restart the game into.
It's working now, but I don't know of a smarter way to do it.
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:41 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
The recommended way to restart the Dialogue System is to call
PixelCrushers.SaveSystem.RestartGame:
Code: Select all
PixelCrushers.SaveSystem.RestartGame("startingScene");
This will reset the Dialogue System's data and load a starting scene.
If you don't want to load a starting scene, call these methods:
Code: Select all
ClearSavedGameData();
BeforeSceneChange();
SaversRestartGame();
(I'm showing examples in code, but you can make the same calls with Bolt.)
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:59 pm
by aaajiao
Looks like I'll have to use the save system, I've already implemented the restart in bolt.
I will have a related issue with AutoSaveLoad, I non just need to set it on the dialogue mannger to work automatically. But I'm developing a desktop game.
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:09 pm
by Tony Li
AutoSaveLoad is usually used for mobile games. You can use it for a desktop game, but desktop games instead typically have a main menu and save slots. You may want to use the free Menu Framework on the
Dialogue System Extras page if you're using a desktop game.
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:32 pm
by aaajiao
Thank you, Tony, I think AutoSaveLoad is a wonderful component, on the desktop as well.
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:48 pm
by Tony Li
Thanks! Please make sure to use Dialogue System version 2.2.10. It fixes a bug in AutoSaveLoad.
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:42 pm
by aaajiao
Re: restart game by button but how to restart dialogue system
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:27 pm
by Tony Li
An AutoSaveLoad patch was available for the previous version, but I'm glad you could upgrade and get the fix in the official release version.