I tried to use bolt to pause Dialogue System and it failed, I don't know why, I basically followed the tutorial above.
What's the best way to use bolt to tentatively schedule an ongoing conversation?
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 4:50 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
What do you mean by "tentatively schedule an ongoing conversation?"
What do you want to happen?
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 6:26 pm
by aaajiao
I have a pause menu made with unity ui and bolt, but I can't pause during the conversation.
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:22 pm
by Tony Li
Are you saying that the conversation does not pause when you set Time.timeScale to zero?
If so, inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject. Set Other Settings > Dialogue Time to Gameplay. This will make it observe Time.timeScale.
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:47 am
by aaajiao
Trying to do so, we can pause while the NPC is talking, but not if it's a palyer.
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 8:56 am
by Tony Li
What happens when it's a player?
Is the problem that you can still click on response menu buttons? If so, there are two solutions:
1. Put your pause menu's canvas on a higher sort order than the Dialogue Manager's Canvas. Make your pause menu cover the entire screen. If you don't want it to visibly cover the entire screen, use a whole-screen image whose color alpha value is zero so it's invisible.
2. Or temporarily disable the Dialogue Manager Canvas's GraphicRaycaster component while the pause menu is visible.
In both cases, also call DialogueManager.Pause() when showing the pause menu and DialogueManager.Unpause() when hiding the pause menu. This will also stop any hotkeys you've set up on Dialogue System UIs.
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:17 am
by aaajiao
Screen Shot 2020-09-13 at 10.36.46 AM.png (78.28 KiB) Viewed 820 times
I tried calling DialogueManager.Pause(), but it didn't work!
yes,the problem that you can still click on response menu buttons
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:23 am
by Tony Li
Did you also do #1 or #2 above? Either of those are required to prevent clicking.
Re: Pause conversation with Bolt
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:50 am
by aaajiao
Hey Tony
I ended up using a method that doesn't allow to execute the pasue menu while in the dialogue dialog.