Page 1 of 2

Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:26 am
by duss
Hi,
we made our scenario in chatmapper.

When I export the project in XML to import it in unity, the xml file looks like that.
(i have an actor with 3 different portraits)

Code: Select all

<Field Hint="A collection of image files that represent this actor." Type="Files">
            <Title>Pictures</Title>
            <Value>[Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\Bleu_1.png;Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\Bleu_2.png;Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\Bleu_3.png]</Value>
          </Field>
if i export from unity to XML Chatmapper, il looks the same.

But when i import from chatmapper, il have only the first portrait.
Do i miss something ?

thanks !
Seb

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:15 am
by Tony Li
Hi Seb,

I overlooked that in the importer. I'll post a patch later today.

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 10:47 am
by duss
thanks !! <3

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:41 pm
by Tony Li
The Dialogue System Extras page now has a patch that imports additional portrait images and also lets you specify whether they are textures or sprites. (In the "Updated for 2.2.9" foldout.)

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:47 am
by duss
it's working perfectly ! thanks !

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 12:44 pm
by Tony Li
Glad to help! Thanks for letting me know about the issue.

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 10:14 am
by duss
Hi Tony, i think there is still a little issue.
Now it imports all my portraits but in an array where the first entry is [2] (its the same for all portrait)

The 2 should be 0
the 3 should be 1
...

did i miss something or it's an issue at your side ?

thanks
Seb

Image

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:28 am
by Tony Li
Does the Chat Mapper import window log any warnings in the Console window?

What is Bonnie's configuration in Chat Mapper? This is what "Karen" looks like in Chat Mapper's example project:

karen.png
karen.png (20.6 KiB) Viewed 578 times

What is Bonnie's Pictures field in the Chat Mapper XML file?

This is what Karen's looks like:

Code: Select all

      <Actor ID="1">
        <Fields>
          <Field Hint="A name to reference this actor." Type="Text">
            <Title>Name</Title>
            <Value>Karen</Value>
          </Field>
          <Field Hint="A collection of image files that represent this actor." Type="Files">
            <Title>Pictures</Title>
            <Value>[ActorImages\14417-Kylie-Free-People-Cutout-Image-web.png;ActorImages\14417-Kylie-Free-People-Cutout-Image-web-angry.png]</Value>
          </Field>

This is what it looks like in the Dialogue System:

karen2.png
karen2.png (19.66 KiB) Viewed 578 times

Here's an updated patch that handles blank spaces in the Pictures field of the XML file. Maybe your Pictures field somehow has blank spaces.

DS_ChatMapperPatch_2020-08-29.unitypackage

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 10:15 am
by duss
Hello,
Thanks for the answer.

I made a short vidéo of the import process. no error (just few unfound portraits)


here is the XML for Bonnie (it's the same as karen in chatmapper)

Code: Select all

 <Actor ID="6">
        <Fields>
          <Field Hint="A name to reference this actor." Type="Text">
            <Title>Name</Title>
            <Value>Bonnie</Value>
          </Field>
          <Field Hint="A collection of image files that represent this actor." Type="Files">
            <Title>Pictures</Title>
            <Value>[Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\Bonnie_1.png;Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\Bonnie_2.png;Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\bonnie_3.png;Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\bonnie_4.png;Personnages\tetes persos\persos_dialogues\bonnie_5.png]</Value>
          </Field>
I tried to import it in sprite or texture and in both case the portrait numération start at [2] with empty first slot.

As you can see I'm on a mac (Mac os 10.15.5).

And It's working with your patch ! (i patched it after i made my video)

Re: Import from chatmapper multiple actor portrait doesn't work ?

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 10:48 am
by Tony Li
Everything is OK now after the second patch?