Page 1 of 1
Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:29 pm
by jlhacode
Hi Tony,
Is there any sort of functionality or script that exists for putting all of my database dialogue text, as individual words, in a text table?
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:40 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Nothing built-in. Why do you want to do that? Maybe I can suggest an alternative.
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:49 pm
by jlhacode
I'm making an accessibility feature that will allow the user to tap on individual words. My logic was that I would tap a word, look it up in my text table, and play it with text to speech.
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 9:13 pm
by Tony Li
If you're doing text to speech on individual words, I don't think you need a text table. Here's one idea:
Use TextMesh Pro. (See
TextMesh Pro Support.)
Add a script to the Dialogue Manager that has an
OnConversationLine method. In the method, process the text to add <link> tags around every word. (
Tutorial on <link> tags.)
When the user taps a link tag, play the corresponding word with text to speech.
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 4:06 am
by jlhacode
My mistake, I missed a significant detail. All the words I'll need to send to text-to-speech will have definitions describing the word being tapped.
For example:
- Cat : Felis catus
- Dog : Canis familiaris
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:47 am
by Tony Li
It's not quite what you need, but you can export all the Dialogue Text, Menu Text, and quest text to a text file. From the Dialogue Editor's Database tab, use Export Database > Format: Language Text. This option exports text dumps into separate files for each language. It's most often used to check which characters your language-specific fonts require. However, you can then separate the words into a list (one per line) and import them into a text table.
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 4:20 pm
by jlhacode
That definitely helps. I can easily make a script that'll make a list for me.
Thanks Tony!
Re: Creating a TextTable from all the words in dialogue database
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 4:31 pm
by Tony Li
Glad to help!