Page 1 of 1

Time gap between dialog lines

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:20 am
by mandi
Hello,
I've noticed that there is a time gap between consecutive dialog lines - is there a setting for that?

I must add that I am not using NPC Subtitle Panel but only NPC Subtitle Reminder Panel in my dialogue UI. I am not sure but it feels like Dialogue System is waiting for a Typewriter Effect from PC Subtitle Panel (which is not being rendered) to finish before showing NPC Subtitle Reminder Panel.

Thank you in advance!

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:16 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Yes, the default setting is to provide a time delay based on the length of the text. On your Dialogue Manager GameObject, check Camera Settings > Default Sequence. It probably has a sequencer command like this:

Code: Select all

Delay({{end}})
If so, or if it's blank, change it to this:

Code: Select all

None()

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:04 pm
by johnnemann
Hi Tony,

Is it possible to have some dialogues with delays, and some without, without needing to manually set up a sequence for every entry?

I have two different dialogue UIs, and for one I'd like no delays, and for the other the normal character-based delay.

Thanks,
Johnnemann

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:53 pm
by Tony Li
Hi Johnnemann,

Yes, you can use Override Display Settings components. If the conversant has this component, it will override the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings for conversations with that conversant. You can specify a different Default Sequence and Dialogue UI.

For an example, look at the Feature Demo's Terminal GameObject. It has an Override Dialogue UI component, which is similar to Override Display Settings but only overrides the dialogue UI.

As an alternative, you can write a small script with an OnConversationStart method. In this method, change the Dialogue Manager's Default Sequence:

Code: Select all

public void OnConversationStart(Transform actor) {
    DialogueManager.DisplaySettings.cameraSettings.defaultSequence = "None()";
} 

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:58 am
by mandi
Hi Tony,
thank you very much for help!
Best