Time gap between dialog lines

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
mandi
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:05 am

Time gap between dialog lines

Post by mandi »

Hello,
I've noticed that there is a time gap between consecutive dialog lines - is there a setting for that?

I must add that I am not using NPC Subtitle Panel but only NPC Subtitle Reminder Panel in my dialogue UI. I am not sure but it feels like Dialogue System is waiting for a Typewriter Effect from PC Subtitle Panel (which is not being rendered) to finish before showing NPC Subtitle Reminder Panel.

Thank you in advance!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22104
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes, the default setting is to provide a time delay based on the length of the text. On your Dialogue Manager GameObject, check Camera Settings > Default Sequence. It probably has a sequencer command like this:

Code: Select all

Delay({{end}})
If so, or if it's blank, change it to this:

Code: Select all

None()
johnnemann
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Post by johnnemann »

Hi Tony,

Is it possible to have some dialogues with delays, and some without, without needing to manually set up a sequence for every entry?

I have two different dialogue UIs, and for one I'd like no delays, and for the other the normal character-based delay.

Thanks,
Johnnemann
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22104
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Johnnemann,

Yes, you can use Override Display Settings components. If the conversant has this component, it will override the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings for conversations with that conversant. You can specify a different Default Sequence and Dialogue UI.

For an example, look at the Feature Demo's Terminal GameObject. It has an Override Dialogue UI component, which is similar to Override Display Settings but only overrides the dialogue UI.

As an alternative, you can write a small script with an OnConversationStart method. In this method, change the Dialogue Manager's Default Sequence:

Code: Select all

public void OnConversationStart(Transform actor) {
    DialogueManager.DisplaySettings.cameraSettings.defaultSequence = "None()";
} 
mandi
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:05 am

Re: Time gap between dialog lines

Post by mandi »

Hi Tony,
thank you very much for help!
Best
Post Reply