Page 1 of 1

Issues with DialogueManager.StartConversation()

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 5:40 am
by Mackerel_Sky
Hi Tony.

I'm having some issues getting DialogueManager.StartConversation() to work in my scripts.

For example, as a test I call DialogueManager.StartConversation("Test Conversation"), the string being the title of the conversation, during Start(), but it never comes up. I noticed that it's described as managing a singleton instance of the DialogueSystemController but I'm not sure what that means or whether it's the source of the issue.

I'm trying to call the method as I'm implementing a test boss character who triggers some dialogue after he transitions to a certain stage of health. Everything works fine up until I need to call StartConversation(), and no error message is logged in console.

Do you have any idea of what's going on? I understand somebody had a similar issue in this thread and managed to solve it using DialogueSystemTrigger, but you mentioned that DialogueManager.StartConversation() should work perfectly fine as well.

https://www.pixelcrushers.com/phpbb/vie ... php?t=1603

Thanks!

Re: Issues with DialogueManager.StartConversation()

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 8:17 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Make sure your scene has a Dialogue Manager GameObject, and that your Console window isn't filtering out warnings.

The Dialogue Manager GameObject has a DialogueSystemController component. This component holds the dialogue database that contains your conversations. If there's no Dialogue Manager GameObject, then DialogueManager.StartConversation() won't be able to find your conversation to start it.

Re: Issues with DialogueManager.StartConversation()

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 9:08 am
by Mackerel_Sky
Okay, I enabled warnings and the console is logging that the conversation isn't in the database. I can see the conversations in the database, though (I think?).

Image

Image

Re: Issues with DialogueManager.StartConversation()

Posted: Thu May 28, 2020 10:00 am
by Tony Li
Is the correct database assigned to the Dialogue Manager?

Inspect the Dialogue Manager and click the logo or the Edit button. This will open the Dialogue Editor window:

editDatabase.png
editDatabase.png (71.85 KiB) Viewed 654 times

Go to the Conversations section and make sure that conversation is in the dropdown list. Click on blank canvas space in the editor to view the conversation's properties. Check that there aren't any blank spaces at the end of the title.

Re: Issues with DialogueManager.StartConversation()

Posted: Fri May 29, 2020 9:33 am
by Mackerel_Sky
Hey Tony,

Looks like that was the issue. For some reason I was creating new conversations without the database selected. Sorry for the trouble!

Re: Issues with DialogueManager.StartConversation()

Posted: Fri May 29, 2020 3:48 pm
by Tony Li
No problem; glad it's working.