Page 1 of 1

Add a delay on dialogues entries.

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 9:45 am
by Kowareta75
I love this plugin!!!

Quick beginner question: now my NPC's replies start one after each other without delay (I have audio+subs).
How can I put some pauses here and there? I'd like to make a bunch of them start after few second or so.

Like this:
PC: Hey how are you?
NPC: I'm...
(2 seconds pause)
NPC: I'm dying.

Something like that.
Thank you!

Re: Add a delay on dialogues entries.

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 10:37 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Thanks for using the Dialogue System!

If you want "NPC: I'm..." to stay onscreen for for 2 seconds, you can set its Sequence to something like:

Code: Select all

AudioWait(NPC_Im)->Message(Spoke);
Delay(2)@Message(Spoke)
The first command will play the audio clip "NPC_Im". When it's done it will send an arbitrary sequencer message "Spoke".

The second command waits until the sequencer message "Spoke" is sent (i.e., by the first command). Then it delays 2 seconds. More info about sequences: Cutscene Sequences Tutorial

If you want to hide the subtitle for 2 seconds between "NPC: I'm..." and "NPC: I'm dying." here are two options:

1. Set the first node's Sequence to:

Code: Select all

AudioWait(NPC_Im)->Message(Spoke);
SetDialoguePanel(false)@Message(Spoke);
Delay(2)@Message(Spoke)->Message(ShowAgain);
SetDialoguePanel(true)@Message(ShowAgain)
2. Or insert a new node between "NPC: I'm..." and "NPC: I'm dying." Leave the node's Dialogue Text blank, and set the Sequence to:

Code: Select all

Delay(2)

A few side notes:

Option 2 only works if your subtitle panels's Visibility dropdowns are set to Only During Content. Otherwise they'll stay visible even during the blank node.

You can also use RPG Maker-style pause codes in your text. Instead of two separate nodes, you could show the text in one node:
  • Dialogue Text: I'm... \. \. I'm dying.
The "\." makes the typewriter pause for 1 second. Since there are two of them, the typewriter will type "I'm..." and then pause for 2 seconds before finishing the typing ("I'm dying.").

Re: Add a delay on dialogues entries.

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 11:48 am
by Kowareta75
Tried both options and they worked beautifully! Opted for the first one.

Thank you a lot! That was a very detailed reply.

Re: Add a delay on dialogues entries.

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 11:52 am
by Tony Li
Happy to help! :-)