Page 1 of 2

Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:37 am
by marche4ever
Using number '1' as message argument would make the message system not work. (I'm on version 2.1.8)

MoveTo(destination,target)->Message(1);
Continue()@Message(1);

but using other numbers like '0' or '2' works, I wonder if that's intentional?

MoveTo(destination,target)->Message(0);
Continue()@Message(0);

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:32 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

I just tested it, and it works correctly. Did you perhaps use a lowercase 'L' instead of number 1 in one of the lines?

I tested in version 2.2.4. Can you back up your project and then update to 2.2.4?

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:39 am
by marche4ever
Hi Tony,
I updated Dialogue System to newest version, but now i'm getting some errors for timeline related scripts. I noticed there is a #IF USE_TIMELINE in the scripts. I wonder what's the proper way of setting this value to true?

Image

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 11:22 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Use menu item Tools > Pixel Crushers > Dialogue System > Welcome Window and tick the Timeline checkbox.

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:07 pm
by marche4ever
I tried to follow the documentation page's instruction:

Timeline & Cinemachine
The Dialogue System has built-in support for Timeline and Playables in Unity 2017+. To enable support, open the Welcome Window (Tools → Pixel Crushers → Dialogue System → Welcome Window) and tick Enable Timeline and/or Enable Cinemachine.


But The welcome window does not show option to toggle timeline.

Image

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:10 pm
by Tony Li
It looks like it isn't fully updated to version 2.2.4 for some reason.

You can try this:

1. Back up your project.
2. Delete Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Common and Dialogue System.
3. Reimport the Dialogue System from the Asset Store.
If the Welcome Window still doesn't show the checkboxes, please let me know if there are any errors or warnings in the Console window.

Or just select menu item Edit > Project Settings > Player, and add this Scripting Define Symbol: USE_TIMELINE

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:49 pm
by marche4ever
Hi Tony,
Or just select menu item Edit > Project Settings > Player, and add this Scripting Define Symbol: USE_TIMELINE
worked for me. Now the welcome window also displays things correctly. I believe the problem welcome window didn't display correctly was because I had errors from referencing timeline-related scripts from the previous version of Dialogue System so Editor Window script didn't update correctly. That made the version updating into a paradoxical situation: I need to tick welcome window box to use Timeline support, but the error made sure that welcome window wouldn't update correctly so I can't enable the Timeline support.

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:08 pm
by marche4ever
Tony Li wrote: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:32 pm Hi,

I just tested it, and it works correctly. Did you perhaps use a lowercase 'L' instead of number 1 in one of the lines?

I tested in version 2.2.4. Can you back up your project and then update to 2.2.4?
Even after the upgrade to 2.2.4, I'm having inconsistency with Message(). On one node it works, but on the other it doesn't.

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:38 pm
by Tony Li
Is it still specifically when using the message '1' (the number one)?

Re: Sequence Message(1) not work

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:38 pm
by marche4ever
After further investigation, I found out that it's not problem with the number '1', but rather when I put two nodes with Message() command together it cause a problem: The Message() does not get triggered on the second node.

Image



SequencerCommand on "Move Player To Spot" node:
MoveTo(PlayerMarker,Player,1)->Message(1);
Continue()@Message(1);

sequencerCommand on "Move Patient to Spot" node:
MoveTo(PatientMarker,Patient,1)->Message(1);
Continue()@Message(1);

The rest nodes does not have any special commands.

The left side will run just fine, apparently because the nodes with Message() are not together.
The right side will get stuck on the middle node, last node won't be reached. Because Continue()@Message() does not trigger.