Page 1 of 1
Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:13 am
by dhishii
Hi,
I have my barks set up like this.
https://imgur.com/a/psmrNuN
I'm trying to replicate subtitles, that appear an an image, with audio overlay to play once and stop.
I tried setting up a Variable and Dialogue System Trigger to run once. But, it only plays the first bark and stops.
Is there a better way I should do this? Or am I doing something wrong?
Thanks!
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:26 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
Barks only show one line of dialogue.
If you want to show all 4 lines in sequence, use a conversation. Link the nodes in the order they should appear:
- convLines.png (7.86 KiB) Viewed 1236 times
Since your character already has a bark UI, add Bark Dialogue UI and Override Dialogue UI components. Assign the Bark Dialogue UI to the Override Dialogue UI. Then change the Dialogue System Trigger to start a conversation instead of playing a bark.
Alternative method: Alternatively to using the bark UI, you can run it as a regular conversation using a custom overhead subtitle panel for the character. See the Bubble Subtitle Example on the
Dialogue System Extras page for an example.
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:07 pm
by dhishii
Thanks Tony,
I tried the first way, but the subtitles didn't show up in the Bark UI panel when I set it up according to the instructions. It only played the audio file linked to the dialogue entry
I downloaded the example bubble subtitle package and want to use that. However, the it doesn't play the first conversation. I followed how the example scene is set up. But nothing happens.
https://imgur.com/IZcRbDR
https://imgur.com/LsaOQW6
https://imgur.com/CBRRR20
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:28 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Does the example scene work?
Did you change the <START> node? If so, try changing its Sequence back to Continue().
What is the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Continue Button mode set to?
Since the player is speaking through barks, make sure to untick Display Settings > Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu. Otherwise it will show a response menu and stop there.
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2019 12:41 am
by dhishii
Yes the example scene works.
It turns out it wasn't working because I had separate canvases (found the fix in another thread) and another asset I'm using was filling the empty Screen Space camera with a camera, causing it to not appear.
Thanks for your help!
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:44 am
by Tony Li
Glad you got it working!
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:07 pm
by cptscrimshaw
Sorry for necroing the thread, but I'm trying to implement this exact thing and can't get the bark UI to show up instead of the normal dialogue UI. I have a gameobject with a Dialogue System Trigger set to start conversation. I added an Override Dialogue UI and a Bark Dailogue UI component:
https://ibb.co/gwT0MWq
I'm wondering if my conversation may be set up incorrectly?
https://ibb.co/0qs1ZCK
Re: Bark Sequence Only Run Once
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:16 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
The conversation will only use the Override Dialogue UI component if it's on the Conversation Actor or Conversation Conversant. In that Dialogue System Trigger, both are set to the GameObject named "Player", but the Override Dialogue UI component is on the Rod in the Stone GameObject.
Try setting the Conversation Conversant to Rod in the Stone.