Page 1 of 1
Problems getting timeline sequencer commands to work
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:07 am
by lostmushroom
Hey, I can't seem to get timelines to work correctly. I would like to have a timeline play on a particular dialogue entry, so I used this sequencer command:
Timeline (play, StartGameTimeline)
But nothing happens. I guess I'm probably missing something.
Re: Problems getting timeline sequencer commands to work
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:38 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
Have you enabled the Dialogue System's Timeline integration?
Are there any errors or warnings in the Console window?
If you temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Debug Level to Info, does it log that the Timeline() sequencer command is playing?
If you open the Timeline editor window on your timeline asset, does it start playing when the Timeline() sequencer command runs?
If your timeline controls the camera and you're using a camera controller script, is the script superceding Timeline's control of the camera?
Re: Problems getting timeline sequencer commands to work
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:56 am
by lostmushroom
I think I have enabled Timeline integration... dumb question, but how do I check if I have or not?
When it reaches the correct dialogue entry, the console reads:
Sequencer.Play(Timeline(play "StartGameTimeline")@0)
Nothing happens on the timeline editor window.
It's not controlling a camera, just some sprites and an activation track of an NPC.
Re: Problems getting timeline sequencer commands to work
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:01 pm
by Tony Li
lostmushroom wrote: ↑Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:56 amI think I have enabled Timeline integration... dumb question, but how do I check if I have or not?
Select Tools > Pixel Crushers > Dialogue System > Welcome Window. Then check if the Timeline Support checkbox is ticked. Or select Edit > Project Settings Player. Then make sure Other Settings > Scripting Define Symbols contains USE_TIMELINE. However, the console line you pasted suggests that the Timeline integration is set up correctly.
lostmushroom wrote: ↑Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:56 amWhen it reaches the correct dialogue entry, the console reads:
Sequencer.Play(Timeline(play "StartGameTimeline")@0)
Nothing happens on the timeline editor window.
It's not controlling a camera, just some sprites and an activation track of an NPC.
Is the GameObject named "StartGameTimline" active?
Is there a comma between "play" and "StartGameTimeline"?
Do you see a second line that looks like:
Code: Select all
Dialogue System: Sequencer: Timeline(play, StartGameTimeline)