Page 1 of 1

Can I make a node look like it hasn't been visited yet?

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:58 pm
by AoF
Hi. I've got a scenario in my game where you can ask a shop keeper if you can sell them some wheat. If you don't own any, she'll say you could sell some if you had some. From then on, that link will look like it's been visited. Normally, that's what I want, but if you come back later and do have wheat, I think it might be nice if the same player response shows that you haven't clicked on it yet, because she'll say something new this time.

One way I could do this is to have duplicate responses that are mutually exclusive due to their conditions, say the same thing, but have different children nodes. Is this the best way to pull this off?

Here's my nodes for this situation:

Re: Can I make a node look like it hasn't been visited yet?

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:49 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Are you using the Dialogue Manager's "Em Tag For Old Responses" feature to show the response as visited?

If so, you can set response's SimStatus back to Untouched. But you need to know the conversation ID and node ID numbers. Then run this Lua:

Code: Select all

Conversation[#].Dialog[#].SimStatus = "Untouched"
where the first # is the conversation ID and the second # is the node ID.

Alternatively, you can use duplicate responses like you described.

I think my preference would be for duplicate responses. It makes everything explicit on the conversation editor canvas. The other way (setting SimStatus back to "Untouched") requires you to remember that you have some code somewhere that does it.

Re: Can I make a node look like it hasn't been visited yet?

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:19 pm
by AoF
Tony Li wrote: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:49 pm Hi,

Are you using the Dialogue Manager's "Em Tag For Old Responses" feature to show the response as visited?
Yes, sorry I forgot that's something you have to turn on so I forgot to mention it.
I think my preference would be for duplicate responses. It makes everything explicit on the conversation editor canvas. The other way (setting SimStatus back to "Untouched") requires you to remember that you have some code somewhere that does it.
Ah that makes sense. Thanks!