Wwise Intergration

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
WizardnCastleStudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:20 pm

Wwise Intergration

Post by WizardnCastleStudio »

Before I start my attempt to integrate Wwise into the dialogue system. Does anyone have any pointers? Or experience in doing this? Examples? HELP....? :)
I think I can use the sequencer commands but I'm not too sure how they work at the moment. I'm also a little unsure on how the dialogue system actually plays audio as well at the moment :oops:

Help appreciated
Head Wizard Ste
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Wwise Intergration

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

I haven't used Wwise in Unity. But a sequencer command is the way to go. You can find a starter template script in Plugins / Pixel Crushers / Dialogue System / Templates / Scripts / SequencerCommandTemplate.cs. Just copy it and fill in your code where the comments indicate. It will then show up in the Sequence field's "+" dropdown menu and/or you can type it manually into the Sequence field.

The manual has a section with Cutscene Sequence Tutorials. Part 6 covers custom sequencer commands. You can also refer to the Cutscene Sequences section of the manual.

If you want to see how the built-in AudioWait() sequencer command works, you can examine the source (SequencerCommandAudioWait.cs). For your Wwise command, you probably don't need to implement everything that the AudioWait() command does. It's designed to be able to handle a lot of different cases.

To see the AudioWait() command in action, play DemoScene1 and talk to the NPC. The Dialogue Manager's Default Sequence uses AudioWait().
WizardnCastleStudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:20 pm

Re: Wwise Intergration

Post by WizardnCastleStudio »

Thanks, Tony, I'll give that a good and be back if I get stuck!
Post Reply