Page 1 of 1
[Solved] Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:08 pm
by harucat
Hi there, I was working in the evaluation version of Dialogue System, making my way through the Conversation Conditions tutorial video, which worked great. Today I bought Dialogue System and imported it (making sure to delete the DLLs specified on the evaluation page), and since then, using [var=Actor] to get the Player's Display Name simply does not work. The conversant will always default to saying "Player" instead of what's in the Display Name field. I started the tutorial from scratch with a new database just to make sure the actors weren't messed up somehow, but it's still the same. Any ideas?
Re: Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:01 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Thanks for buying the Dialogue System!
There shouldn't be any difference in this regard between the evaluation and paid versions. Let's take a look at the configuration.
Are GameObjects assigned to the Dialogue System Trigger's Actions > Start Conversation > Conversation Actor or Conversation Conversant?
If so, do they have Dialogue Actor components? If they have Dialogue Actor components, have you selected an actor from the dropdown menu? If they don't have Dialogue Actor components, what are the GameObject names?
I just tested this in an existing project, but I'm going to create a new project and re-download the Dialogue System from the Asset Store in case maybe the Asset Store is delivering a bad package or something. I thought I'd get those questions out first, while I set up the new project.
Re: Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:12 pm
by Tony Li
I can reproduce the problem in a new project. Give me a bit to get to the bottom of it....
Re: Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:37 pm
by Tony Li
This is a bug that was fixed in a patch today. It was introduced in version 2.0.8, which was released yesterday. You can download the patch here:
DialogueSystem_2_0_8_Patch20181127.unitypackage
This fix will also be in 2.0.9, which I expect to release on Friday.
Re: Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:11 am
by harucat
Yep, that did the trick! Thanks so much for all your hard work on this system, it's really cool so far!
Re: [Solved] Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:46 am
by Tony Li
Thanks!
Re: [Solved] Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:16 pm
by harucat
Sorry to bring this topic back, but I think I've found another bug that is related to this issue.
When trying to change an actor's name at runtime, the code provided
in this thread doesn't seem to work. (User mmopulencia also notes this). If I inspect the dialogue actors, the variable "Display Name" has a space in it, so I suspect it's linked to the issue above.
Re: [Solved] Display Name broken when upgrading to paid version
Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:08 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
For efficiency, the Dialogue System now caches actors' Display Names when the conversation starts. This unitypackage contains a small script that adds a Lua function to change an actor's Display Name during a conversation:
DiscoverNameExample_2018-12-06.unitypackage
Use the Lua function in the
Script field like this:
Code: Select all
ChangeActorName("Name", "New Display Name")
The Lua function does the same thing as setting the actor's "Display Name" but it also updates the active conversation's cache if a conversation is active.
The unitypackage also includes an example scene.