Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:41 pm
by Japtor
Hi,

In the first scene, I have planned that the same NPC could say two different conversations at different points.

While the scene is active, can you switch the Dialogue System Trigger -> Actions -> Conversation to another one when it has finished?

Thanks!

Re: Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:11 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

You could do that with a script, but I recommend this solution instead: Define a variable that you can check to know which conversation to play. Add two Dialogue System Triggers. In the Condition sections, check the variable.

Re: Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:42 pm
by ava
I just noticed that this question is very similar to my question: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1770

I can accept this solution if there are two dialogs, but what if the NPC has +/- 20 dialogs? It seems quite complex to add multiple triggers...

Re: Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:04 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

In that case, use a single Dialogue System Trigger that starts a "hub" conversation. Use cross-conversation links in the hub conversation to link to each of the 20 conversations. Add a condition to the first node of each conversation so that only one is true at any given time. I actually prefer this because it keeps all the logic in one place (the dialogue database).

Re: Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:17 pm
by Japtor
Thanks for your answer! :)

Re: [Solved] Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:24 pm
by Tony Li
You're welcome! :-)

Re: [Solved] Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:00 pm
by Japtor
Hi,

I want to return to this post as I have a doubt.
Tony Li wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:04 pm Hi,

In that case, use a single Dialogue System Trigger that starts a "hub" conversation. Use cross-conversation links in the hub conversation to link to each of the 20 conversations. Add a condition to the first node of each conversation so that only one is true at any given time. I actually prefer this because it keeps all the logic in one place (the dialogue database).
What about If I want to maintain that same logic, but now with the bark dialogues? It won't be a problem If there is only a node connected to the Start node of a conversation. However, If a bark conversation has 2 or more dialogue nodes connected to the Start node (the idea is to randomly bark one of those)... Which position should I pick as the start node? (look spoiler image)
Spoiler
Image
If I pick "0: <START>", it doesn't spawn a bark. If I pick the number 1, it always shows the first even having inside the Dialogue System Trigger -> Bark Order -> Random, and the same if I pick number 2.

What should I do in that case?

Thanks! :)

Re: Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:58 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Link from <START> to a Group node. Then link the Group node to the actual text nodes (Sigo esperando... and Continue...).

In your hub conversation, link to the Group node.

Re: Switch conversation from same character.

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:43 pm
by Japtor
Hi,

Oh, fantastic! It worked!

Thanks! :)