Page 1 of 1
Actor Name Localization
Posted: Fri May 08, 2015 6:34 am
by zpr
Hello,
In DS wiki
http://www.pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_s ... ation.html I couldn't find an example on how to localize actor names.
I've tested like this:
http://i.imgur.com/WeQUhkO.png
"Name {localize_ID}"
Actor Name Localization
Posted: Fri May 08, 2015 6:40 am
by zpr
forgot to mention it didn't work the "Name {localize_ID}"
Actor Name Localization
Posted: Fri May 08, 2015 7:28 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
The Dialogue System doesn't automatically localize actor names, but it's easy to do. Here's one way:
1. Set up localized name field exactly as you have done (e.g., "Name fr-FR").
2. Add an Override Actor Name component to the GameObject.
3. Add this script to the GameObject:
using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;
using PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem;
[RequireComponent(typeof(OverrideActorName))]
public class LocalizeActorName : MonoBehaviour {
private IEnumerator Start() {
yield return null; // Wait 1 frame for Lua to initialize.
var overrideActorName = GetComponent<OverrideActorName>();
var initialName = string.IsNullOrEmpty(overrideActorName.overrideName) ? gameObject.name : overrideActorName.overrideName;
overrideActorName.overrideName = DialogueLua.GetLocalizedActorField(initialName, "Name").AsString;
if (string.IsNullOrEmpty(overrideActorName.internalName)) {
overrideActorName.internalName = initialName;
}
}
}
Actor Name Localization
Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 4:43 am
by zpr
Hello again,
I'm unable to get DialogueLua.GetLocalizedActorField() right. It's returning an empty string
Tested others functions and got the following
DialogueLua.GetActorField(initialName, "Name").AsString; // returns 'Ingrid'
DialogueLua.GetActorField(initialName, "Ability").AsString; //returns 'Leadership'
My Setup:
http://i.imgur.com/3rpRc39.png
and overrideName field in OverrideActorName script is set to "Ingrid"
Edit:
I'm using DS 1.5.0 and Unity3d 4.6.4f1
EDIT:
MY MISTAKE. ALL GOOD NOW. TY