Page 5 of 6

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 8:53 pm
by jae026
OKay, so It is still loading the wrong scene. I am calling this.

Code: Select all

    
    public void LoadLevel()
    {
        Debug.LogError("Loading Scene " + _sceneToLoad.value);

        PixelCrushers.SaveSystem.LoadScene(_sceneToLoad.value);
    }
My setup is that I have a single transition scene. its just a hallway and when you get to the end and walk through a trigger it calls LoadLevel();

The value _sceneToLoad.value is a scriptable object and the value is set in the previous scene. At the end of Chapter 1 it sets _sceneToLoad.value to Chapter 2 and at the end of Chapter 2 it sets _sceneToLoad.value to Chapter 3 and so on. So when the player enters the transition level the _sceneToLoad.value is already set from the previous level.

I have debugerror statements in my dev build that tell me what levels are going to be loaded next and what level is currently loading. It shows the correct level to load next but when LoadLevel is called t loadsa the previously saved level instead of the level from the _sceneToLoad.value. Which is already verified to be correct.

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 8:53 pm
by jae026
Also, I am not loading a saved game. I am starting from a fresh build.

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:12 pm
by Tony Li
Hmm, if you Debug.LogError line reports the correct scene name to load, then SaveSystem.LoadScene will load that scene.

Have you assigned a scene to the Save System's Standard Scene Transition Manager component > Loading Scene field? If so, try leaving that field blank.

Is it possible that it's loading the correct scene but then something in the newly-loaded scene is causing it to immediately load another scene?

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:53 pm
by jae026
Trying that now.

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:10 pm
by Tony Li
If that doesn't help, please feel free to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com.

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:36 pm
by jae026
Should I be setting Continue Mode to false on the nodes that load level. IF I press the progress conversation button when it starts loading level it ends the conversation and freezes the game.

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:46 pm
by jae026
I sent you a repo just incase this doesnt work

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:49 am
by Tony Li
Thanks; I'm downloading the repro project now.

You can either turn off continue mode or just use the Continue() sequencer command. Example:

Code: Select all

required LoadLevel("Some Scene");
Continue()
The 'required' keyword guarantees that LoadLevel() runs even if the Continue() command happens to run just before LoadLevel(). Since neither has timing information (e.g., Continue()@8 or whatever), they will both run at the same time as soon as the dialogue entry plays.

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 10:50 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

If that doesn't work and you'd like me to look at the reproduction project, please provide the exact steps I should follow to reproduce the issue. Thanks!

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 7:26 pm
by jae026
I think I figured out the last issue. However, I do need help with 1 more thing. If you run the scne Chapter 3 and get to the end (which isn't long), there is a conversation where the entire contents of the dialogue text does not show up in the speech bubble. I can't figure out why.