Page 3 of 6
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:08 pm
by Tony Li
Thanks!
How many enemies is your quest giver detecting in the domain? The Required Value field is a suggested value for the generator. In your screenshot, it's 4. But if the quest giver only detects 1 enemy in the domain when it's generating the quest, it will set the quest requirement to 1, not 4. This is because it can't guarantee that more enemies will appear later, and it doesn't want to generate a quest that can't be completed.
You can count up the number of entities manually. Inspect the Quest Domain GameObject and expand the Entities list.
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:24 am
by dlevel
ah yeah that is the problem and a tricky one. I instantiate the enemies regarding player position so yeah it only finds 1 enemy at a time. if I expand entities in the domains gameobject I can only have the entity not how many of them I need to hunt correct?
edit: would it possible that entities had another option like the level, to have quantity in them?
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:54 pm
by dlevel
So I tried to spawn my enemies all when the dungeon generates, and it seems like it could work, but the problem is in the world, there are thousands of monsters that are not spawned and are triggered by player and can't seem to find a way around this, I could only think if I could bypass the check of the quest giver of how many of the same enemies finds to limit the amount of the kills needed in the quest. Any idea?
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:10 pm
by Tony Li
Since the "Required Value" field really isn't doing much right now, I'll change it so you can use it to specify a minimum.
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:21 pm
by dlevel
awesome thanks!
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:20 am
by dlevel
I just feel the need to say that this feature (Quest Generation) is unique and very very clever, I see the potential the more I dig in... kudos for making it
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:38 am
by Tony Li
Thanks! If you have any suggestions for making it less intimidating to use, please let me know. I tried to make it as uncomplicated as possible without compromising its flexibility, but I'll happily receive any feedback that could make it more approachable, such as ideas to improve the UI.
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:45 am
by dlevel
Well it took me 1 day to figure it out (the logic behind it) so I'd say it's pretty good as it is regarding the way it works, and to be honest when I bought this asset for the buzz word of procedurally generated quests I couldn't think how can this be done, but now I get it and I'm impressed
I have some suggestions to make it better and will post along the way because I'm setting up this mechanic in my game for the next couple of weeks.
For example, I'm still trying to figure out how to use the 1 NPC for both boss and minion dungeon generated quests because I would need the counter to be minimum 10 (when you change the way it works as you mentioned in a previous post here) for minions, but 1 for the boss. 2 NPCs is the easy method but still trying to figure it out and will post here if I get with an idea
I just made a new shop that has Dungeon Items in it and a new currency that you only get from this dungeon quests so I don't need new Item rewards.
As for the UI, I'm now putting spaces/enters so it appears nicely for the UI dialogue which works atm.
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:12 am
by Tony Li
For the required values (1 boss vs. 10 minions), you could create two separate Kill actions -- one with Required Value = 1, the other with Required Value = 10.
I'll try to think of a cleaner way to specify this.
I could move Required Value to the entity. So the Kill action would look up the entity's required value. But this would apply to all actions (Kill 10 minions, Heal 10 minions, etc.) so it might not be ideal.
Instead, if it doesn't complicate things, I'll probably allow designers to specify a "minimum count" parameter in entities' Actions list:
- actionsPlusParam.png (8.53 KiB) Viewed 2237 times
Re: Quest Generation (Domains)
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:16 am
by dlevel
Awesome, waiting for the update! I agree in allowing a minimum count parameter in the entities Action list, would be much cleaner and straight forward!