hrohibil wrote: ↑Mon Jul 25, 2022 4:36 amI moved my sequencer cam and dragged in a prefab of it into the slot in dialogue manager. But as you see from the screnshot, I think my sequencer code is wrong, as you see its a closeup on actors face instead of showing where i originally put the camera, i wanted a view from top? So how do i position my sequencer cam and before i make it a prefab ensure that it will capture from that angle?
Put an empty GameObject in the scene in the exact position and rotation where you would like the camera angle to be. Give this GameObject a unique name such as "MyCameraAngle". Then specify that GameObject in the sequencer command:
This will move the sequencer camera to match the position and rotation of MyCameraAngle.
hrohibil wrote: ↑Mon Jul 25, 2022 4:36 amThe error message i get in red, it because I dont know why nut then camera is on that closeup view, my component called vLockOnShooter gets disabled??
Disable vLockOnShooter during sequences.
1. Assign your player GameObject to the Dialogue System Trigger's Actions > Play Sequence > Sequence Speaker (not listener).
2. Add a Dialogue System Events component to your player if it doesn't already have one. Configure OnSequenceStart() to disable vLockOnShooter and OnSequenceEnd() to re-enable it. And/or configure OnSequenceStart()/OnSequenceEnd() to call the player's DialogueSystemInvectorBridge.PausePlayer and UnpausePlayer if you want to pause the player during the cutscene.
Re: cutscene in start scene
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 10:16 am
by hrohibil
Thank you Tony.
I really want this cut scene to work.
Please see my setup in screenshots below.
After I removed the sequencer prefab cam and used an empty gameobject called "MyCameraAngle", I don't get the error on the vLockOnShooter anymore?
But my issues now is this, I use a sequence command from a dialogue trigger attached to an empty GO called "CutSceneRig". I set it to trigger on start. (see picture).
This code Camera(MyCameraAngle), when I press play it instantly starts at where my original TPS camera is and this is the final view or the view I want it to return to after the sequencer has run. So I thought I was missing to add some time for it to be in that state, so I add 6 seconds like this Camera(MyCameraAngle,, 6); but with this I discovered that that it is the time or duration it takes to transition from original camera view to this new one, what happens actually was that it slowly during those 6 seconds moved from original spot to the the new MyCameraAngle position, and as soon as it reached its goal, it returned back to to the original view, but this time wrongly, see pictures below, on the second picture you can see images called 1 and 2. The 1 is how it should return to, but it retunes back to image 2, meaning on an distance where the player is not visible anymore? As soon as I remove the seconds in the code and go back to this code Camera(MyCameraAngle) the view is exactly where it should be...
Please advice..
Again my goal here is simple:
-Start scene immediately from a fixed angle
-Character should play a specific animation in this sequincer, which I am trying to do with Invectors Generic Animation
-Play a dialogue conversation from this view (intro)
-When dialogue is completed then return to normal camera view / gameplay.
Pic # 01
Pic # 02
Re: cutscene in start scene
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 11:49 am
by Tony Li
hrohibil wrote: ↑Mon Jul 25, 2022 10:16 amAgain my goal here is simple:
-Start scene immediately from a fixed angle
-Character should play a specific animation in this sequincer, which I am trying to do with Invectors Generic Animation
-Play a dialogue conversation from this view (intro)
-When dialogue is completed then return to normal camera view / gameplay.
In this case, don't use a separate Dialogue System Trigger for the sequence. Run the sequence in the conversation.
1. Remove the extra Dialogue System Trigger that runs the Play Sequence action.
2. In the first node of the conversation, use this sequence:
Please confirm by the image below that by first and last node you mean the ones below and not the orange start node and the blue end node..
IF I remove the trigger and instead put it on the conversation instead, then I still need a trigger to start the conversation anyway?
Anyway I made a short video, maybe you can see things better and understand my issue
Re: cutscene in start scene
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 1:40 pm
by Tony Li
Yes, you'll still need a Dialogue System Trigger (set to OnSaveDataApplied or OnStart) to start the conversation instead of just a sequence. Put the sequencer commands on the first node after the <START> node.
What's the purpose of the blue node? You can put the sequencer command there at any rate.
Re: cutscene in start scene
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 1:56 pm
by hrohibil
Ok I did that as well.
I deleted the blue node, did not use it. Did you see the video?
As you see I putted the code first and last node as you instructed.
I did create a system trigger but as you see in video i still have the issues??
- How to force cameras to stay in that angle longer time? Because I want both a MONO dialogue meaning a story is being told here at the beginning while a specific animation is going on..
-Camera don't switch back to the original cams location?
I did last night and could still not find answers to my problem.
Which is why I am writing here.
When the camera returns, why does it not return back to EXACT same location as it should?
And also this question, its gonna be a conversation / dialogue ongoing same time as the sequence shot , so how do make the camera stay longer in that view instead of depending on the length of the dialogue nodes?
Thank you Tony
Re: cutscene in start scene
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 2:28 pm
by Tony Li
hrohibil wrote: ↑Mon Jul 25, 2022 2:12 pmWhen the camera returns, why does it not return back to EXACT same location as it should?
If you've assigned a camera prefab to the Dialogue Manager's Sequencer Camera field, it should deactivate the sequencer camera at the end of the conversation. Then your main camera will be rendering the scene, so you should see it in the exact same location as before the conversation.
If you haven't assigned a camera prefab to the Sequencer Camera field, the conversation will use the main camera, and it should return the main camera back to its original position at the end of the conversation.
hrohibil wrote: ↑Mon Jul 25, 2022 2:12 pmAnd also this question, its gonna be a conversation / dialogue ongoing same time as the sequence shot , so how do make the camera stay longer in that view instead of depending on the length of the dialogue nodes?
Add another node with no text. You don't need a blue node. Use a gray node. Set its Sequence to something like:
Please watch the tutorial videos again and, afterward, let me know if that clarified things.
Re: cutscene in start scene
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2022 7:01 am
by hrohibil
Ok Tony i got it 99% working thank you so much.....
Man this was a tough for one for me. Been up all night....
So the camera angle works now, but i had to put your code {{default}}; Camera(MyCameraAngle) in the first orange node, when I did the other node then the first dialogue still displayed from original camera view.
Now my last issue in this matter, I am using Invector TPS as you know, and I have set a Trigger Generic action on him, a trigger on a box he is on. and this trigger an animation which i want to use in from the start of scene loads.
In the system trigger I already unchecked "Pause game during conversation" , but it seems my animation will first play as soon as the initial cutscene/dialogue is completed?
How can I have my animation playing from beginning along with the cutscene?