Page 2 of 3
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 10:02 am
by PayasoPrince
Yes, I have a timeline asset assigned to the PlayableDirector and only one PlayableDirector in the scene.
Edit: The strangest part is that this is not happening for all conversations. When I change the conversation listed on the Start Conversation Clip, some are working.
I think its worth mentioning that removing the following from the sequence of the conversations with issues removes the error in the console, but it is still using the default UI for some reason.
Code: Select all
Timeline(speed, TimelineManager, 0);
required Timeline(speed, TimelineManager, 1)@Message(Continued)
It's almost like specific conversations lost connection to my Dialogue Manager.
Edit: Made a brand new conversation > Not overriding anything > Tested with an actor that has a separate conversation that displays correctly > Issue still occurs
It looks like I can't simply rule it out to an anomaly and remake the conversations.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:02 am
by Tony Li
Feel free to send a
reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com.
You could also temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info. Then reproduce the issue. This will log a lot of information to the Console. You may be able to see if it's using the wrong GameObject or something like that.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:27 am
by PayasoPrince
I isolated where the issue is coming from.
I removed the entire Timeline and completely reset my dialogue database. Made a new Timeline and Conversation but the issue
still persisted. After playing the time timeline a few more times it seemingly out of nowhere it started displaying the correct UI.
After swapping the Actor and the Conversant listed in the dialogue database, it immediately broke again. I remember that this is what I was doing when It broke the first time. For some reason, swapping the actor and the conversant is disconnecting it from the Dialogue Manager.
At this point, I created a new conversation and didn't edit the actor or conversant field. It displayed the correct UI. I then changed the actor and the conversant and boom it instantly broke and displayed the incorrect default UI again.
Is there a specific trick to swapping the actor/conversant I should know? I'm kind of completely out of commission at this point because I need to be able to create cutscenes...
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:44 am
by PayasoPrince
Additionally, here's an example of it at runtime.
It looks as if it should be pulling my Custom Dialogue UI, but its displaying the default:
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:17 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
It's important to understand how GameObjects are associated with actors in conversations.
Please see:
Character GameObject Assignments
The fact that changing actors in the database makes a difference is a good clue. It suggests that the timeline isn't using the GameObjects you expect for the primary participants. Override Dialogue UI / Override Display Settings components are only observed on the primary participant GameObjects.
If you temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info, you can see what GameObjects are being used as the primary actor and conversant when Timeline starts the conversation.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:52 pm
by PayasoPrince
Hi Tony, I have read that section and confirmed that the correct gameobjects are set.
But either way, I'm not overriding the Dialogue UI anywhere. Shouldn't it always just be displaying the Display Settings > Dialogue UI I have set in the Dialogue System Controller? I'm not changing it anywhere.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 2:15 pm
by Tony Li
From your screenshot, it looks like the ProjectLove Custom Dialogue UI's Dialogue Panel is active, which suggests that it's using the dialogue UI that you assigned to the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Dialogue UI field.
Isn't that what you want?
Is it using the wrong subtitle panel in that dialogue UI? Is that the issue?
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 2:47 pm
by PayasoPrince
Right, it looks like it's its pulling my Custom Dialogue UI based on the name, but its displaying the incorrect UI.
Here is an example of what I'm expecting to see:
I suppose saying it's using the wrong subtitle panel is close to accurate. Reviewing this further, it looks like the the "NPC Subtitle Panel" is disabled and the generic looking "response menu panel" is the only panel enabled.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 2:59 pm
by Tony Li
Inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject. Tick Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Show PC Subtitles During Line, and untick Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu.
Re: Conversation Track Not Disabling CharacterController
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 3:38 pm
by PayasoPrince
Slight progress.
I unticked Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu.
& I tried
both Tick/Untick Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Show PC Subtitles During Line
The response menu is now disabled, but I only want the NPC panel enabled and not the PC panel.