Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
- bohemian pulp
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:01 am
Re: Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
As I moved further into the dialogue, it seemed to work at other places. I'll check it out and send some screenshots
Creator of "Let Bions be bygones"
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
- bohemian pulp
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:01 am
Re: Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
I tried what I could, but it still does the same thing.
This is the sequence that happens, and it's even before a Response Menu and Continue Button is set to "Not Before Response Menu."
SetContinueMode(false);
MoveTo(Buzz Walk in point, Buzz, 2);
AnimatorPlay(Buzz Walk, Buzz Plane);
AnimatorPlay(Buzz Idle, Buzz Plane)@2;
SetContinueMode(original)@2;
Continue()@2
After this scene, when a new scene is loaded, it works well in a similar situation with the sequence:
SetContinueMode(false);
AnimatorPlayWait(CooperDeskLightCig, Cooper Plane)->Message(Lit);
SetContinueMode(original)@Message(Lit);
Continue()@Message(Lit);
I even tried loading the first scene, hoping that could fix the thing for some reason, it didn't.
There are no errors in the Console.
I'm sending you the hierarchy screenshot. All of those Message Panels are connected to the Continue Button below. I made two separate Scroll Rects because I wanted to have one scroller for the text, and one for the responses, with one fixed middle anchor. I don't like it when they move each other.
This is the sequence that happens, and it's even before a Response Menu and Continue Button is set to "Not Before Response Menu."
SetContinueMode(false);
MoveTo(Buzz Walk in point, Buzz, 2);
AnimatorPlay(Buzz Walk, Buzz Plane);
AnimatorPlay(Buzz Idle, Buzz Plane)@2;
SetContinueMode(original)@2;
Continue()@2
After this scene, when a new scene is loaded, it works well in a similar situation with the sequence:
SetContinueMode(false);
AnimatorPlayWait(CooperDeskLightCig, Cooper Plane)->Message(Lit);
SetContinueMode(original)@Message(Lit);
Continue()@Message(Lit);
I even tried loading the first scene, hoping that could fix the thing for some reason, it didn't.
There are no errors in the Console.
I'm sending you the hierarchy screenshot. All of those Message Panels are connected to the Continue Button below. I made two separate Scroll Rects because I wanted to have one scroller for the text, and one for the responses, with one fixed middle anchor. I don't like it when they move each other.
- Attachments
-
- 2021-07-28 16_29_28-Window.png (15.9 KiB) Viewed 641 times
Creator of "Let Bions be bygones"
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
Re: Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
Hi,
Change these lines:
to this:
(Also put 'required' in front of SetContinueMode(original)@Message(Lit);)
All of these lines are specified to play at the 2-second mark:
However, there's no guarantee that they'll play in that sequential order. The Continue() command might kick off first at the 2-second mark, which would immediately continue the conversation, cutting off the current sequence before AnimatorPlay() and SetContinueMode() get to run. The 'required' keyword guarantees that they run.
Change these lines:
Code: Select all
AnimatorPlay(Buzz Idle, Buzz Plane)@2;
SetContinueMode(original)@2;
Code: Select all
required AnimatorPlay(Buzz Idle, Buzz Plane)@2;
required SetContinueMode(original)@2;
All of these lines are specified to play at the 2-second mark:
Code: Select all
AnimatorPlay(Buzz Idle, Buzz Plane)@2;
SetContinueMode(original)@2;
Continue()@2
- bohemian pulp
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:01 am
Re: Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
I'll give it a try, though, the Continue button appears instantly, and if you click it, it just doesn't execute the later actions in the Sequence. The weird thing is, the Continue mode is not broken for the rest of the conversation, even though it was not returned to the original.
Creator of "Let Bions be bygones"
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
- bohemian pulp
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:01 am
Re: Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
The continue button still appears and can interrupt the sequence, but at least, the whole sequence is executed, which works for me.
Creator of "Let Bions be bygones"
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
https://linktr.ee/bohemianpulp
Re: Adding a Subtitle Panel to SMS Dialogue UI
Sounds good. If you do want to get rid of the continue button there, a SetContinueMode(false) in that node's Sequence, too, may do it.