Page 2 of 2

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:54 pm
by VoodooDetective
I tried out that change, but with or without it, whenever I mouse over the dialogue editor (not even clicking) it changes the directory.


BUT I did comment this line:

Code: Select all

if ((value != null) && (instance != null)) Selection.activeObject = DialogueEditorWindow.instance.database;
And that stopped it.

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:43 pm
by Tony Li
Thanks! I'll make sure an appropriate fix is in the next release. (Maybe the one you posted? I need to do a bit of digging.)

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:55 pm
by VoodooDetective
Ah just realized why that code was there.
Without it, the inspector doesn't inspect the conversations you click on. I wonder if there's a way to inspect the database without selecting it in the project window. I'm going to ask on Unity forums. Maybe there's a magic method I don't know about.

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 10:14 pm
by Tony Li
What it should be doing is checking that the Dialogue Editor window is the focused window before stealing back the active selection. I'll try to put together a fix tomorrow.

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2020 9:22 pm
by VoodooDetective
Oh that makes sense to me. Cool!

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2020 10:05 pm
by Tony Li
Can I confirm with you that this only happens when you click in the Dialogue Editor window's Conversations canvas area?

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:03 pm
by VoodooDetective
Actually there was a spell when it would happen even if I just moused over the window, but it's inconsistent. Most of the time it's just clicking.

I swear there are times when it gets into a state where if I create a new file, it'll cause the jump to the database.

I'm trying out that patch you sent now. I'll let you know if I run into it once I start coding today.

Re: Issue: Always jumps to root folder when clicking dialogue window

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:07 pm
by Tony Li
If it doesn't address the issue you're seeing, if possible please let me know what steps can reproduce the issue.