[HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If it's still taking the same amount of time, then it sounds like the continue button isn't working, and the dialogue entry is finishing when its sequence ends. You can temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info to get more insight in the Console log.

If you set up a continue button and click it, does the dialogue entry finish immediately, or does it also delay?
timbecile
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:00 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by timbecile »

yeah, the continue button does the same. Is there a way to completely turn off the wait?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by Tony Li »

Strange. I'm not sure what's causing that, then. But to completely turn off the wait that I'm thinking of, inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject. Set Display Settings > Camera & Cutscene Settings > Default Sequence to:

Code: Select all

None()
timbecile
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:00 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by timbecile »

hmm. that just seems to turn off the NPC subtitle Menu
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by Tony Li »

Try this:

Code: Select all

None()@0
It's a bit of a trick, but it will help us identify the issue.
timbecile
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:00 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by timbecile »

hmm. that broke the typewriter effect and the response menu flashes when I click on a button, but besides that it's just about what I'm after.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by Tony Li »

If you want to wait for the typewriter effect, you could set the Sequence / Default Sequence to:

Code: Select all

WaitForMessage(Typed)
timbecile
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:00 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by timbecile »

Yes! that's what I wanted!

One more question...how do I put a background panel in that covers the entire screen during conversation? I tried putting a panel in there, but it stays up even after conversation is over. I"m sure I just need to assign it to something, but I"m not sure what.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by Tony Li »

The dialogue UI's Dialogue Panel's Rect Transform usually covers the whole screen. It probably already has a disabled Image component. Try enabling this Image component (or add it if it doesn't have one), and assign your background cover image.
timbecile
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:00 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Continue Without UI Button

Post by timbecile »

ah. I see. it takes about 10 or 15 seconds to disappear after I close the dialog. any way to speed that up?
Post Reply