Re: Newbie needing help!
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:39 pm
No problem, I didn't give you time to do so! =P Thanks for the response anyway.
Support and discussion forum for Pixel Crushers products
https://www.pixelcrushers.com:443/phpbb/
https://www.pixelcrushers.com:443/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=1521
Resize the continue button so it covers the entire screen. Set the Image component's Color alpha value to 0 so it's invisible. Delete the child Text element.jeremycards wrote: ↑Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:28 am-First, where could I set it so dialogue advances when I click the screen? I have the option to use that continue button, but it gets annoying to have to click it after every line, but if you can click anywhere I think it would be a lot better, but I can't find that option
Inspect the Dialogue Manager. Set the Subtitle Settings > Continue Button dropdown to Always.jeremycards wrote: ↑Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:28 amif possible I would like to set it so a first click would show the full text box without waiting for it to finish showing, and once its fully shown, a click would move to the next line. And also I want to disable the automatic passing of the dialogue, so it only advances with clicking.
Use the DialogueLua class. For example:jeremycards wrote: ↑Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:28 am-second, there's any way I can access the variables of the dialogue manager from other scripts?, that would help me with quite a lot of things, but I can't open the script of the dialogue manager with visual studio.
Code: Select all
using PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem;
...
if (DialogueLua.GetVariable("metBob").AsBool == true)
{
Debug.Log("Player has met Bob.");
}
...
DialogueLua.SetVariable("currentTime", Time.time);
You may find it easier to use a Dialogue System Events component, as described in the Interaction Tutorial. (The tutorial also links to a video version if you prefer video tutorials.)jeremycards wrote: ↑Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:28 am-and third, I'm trying to make it so the "press space to interact" message disappears during dialogue because it sometimes gets in the way of the text box. I made a "talking" variable in the GameManager that gets set to true when characters are talking, and it works perfectly for stopping my character from moving while talking, as I made an "if" on the movement script to prevent it from working when "talking" is on. So I'm trying to use that same variable with the text showing "press space to interact" but I'm not finding exactly where to put it... help?