Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Ramezov
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:26 am

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Ramezov »

True, my bad I downloaded the one for v.2, now I have no errors , but first of all your ConversationZone script was already containing number of activation controls as shown in the screenshot below

Image

also I tried the new activations section and still can activate the conversation unlimited times know that I set everything as shown in the screenshot.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Tony Li »

Argh, turns out Corgi contains different code based on your version of Unity!

In the Corgi package for Unity 5.6, the Number of Activations section is in Corgi's DialogueZone script. In the package for some higher version of Unity, he moved it to the base script that's shared by DialogueZone and the Dialogue System's ConversationZone scripts. As far as I can tell, he didn't document this difference. I'll figure out which Corgi package has the change. Then I'll update the Dialogue System's Corgi Support package to handle it.

In the meantime, I think it should still work as long as you change the bottom Activations section. If you use Once Permanently, you'll need to define a variable in your dialogue database. Then set the Remember Activated Variable dropdown to that variable. In your screenshot, the dropdown currently points to the "Alert" variable, which gets reset in every conversation.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Tony Li »

Just FYI - In the updated Corgi Support package, the variable will probably change from a true/false Boolean value to a Number that records how many times the conversation has been activated. I'll make it available by the end of the day.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Tony Li »

Okay, the Dialogue System Extras page now has updated support packages that work properly with Corgi Engine's Activations settings. The support package now requires Unity 2017.1+ since the version of Corgi distributed for Unity 5.6 is an older version.
Ramezov
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:26 am

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Ramezov »

Many thanks , everything working fine now.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks for the update, and for letting me know in the first place about the difference in the Corgi versions.
Ramezov
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:26 am

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Ramezov »

Dear Tony,

I reached a point were i want conversation zone separated from npcs , for example an npc following the player and when they reach certain locations with conversation zone the conversation begins, every thing worked fine exept one point, which is if i disable "Can Move While Talking" in conversationZone the player still can moving, while i want him not to move, to reproduce this issue all what you need to do is:
  • place the ConversationZone gameObject outside of the npc
    uncheck "Can Move While Talking"
    now player can still move
any suggestions how to address this please.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The ConversationZone script assumes it will receive an OnConversationStart method to freeze the player, but since it's not part of the conversant (NPC), it won't receive the message. To make it receive the message:

1. Make sure the Dialogue System Trigger's Conversation Conversant is set to the NPC. (The Dialogue Actor and subtitle panel should also be on the NPC if you use either of these components.)

2. Add a Dialogue System Events component to the NPC. Hook up the OnConversationStart and OnConversationEnd events to the ConversationZone's OnConversationStart and OnConversationEnd methods. Select the methods listed at the top, under "Dynamic":

Image
Ramezov
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:26 am

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Ramezov »

Thank you so much , that worked perfectly.

I noticed another matter.
I've set the UI Trigger Button for the continue button to "E" but I've noticed pressing "Space" also triggers the continue button, I couldn't manage to find why is that happening knowing that I checked all placed of control and no "Space" assigned anywhere except for player jump.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up continue button for corgi engine

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Dialogue UIs use Unity's UI system. The UI system uses an EventSystem that has a StandardInputModule. The StandardInputModule has a Submit field. This field specifies an input definition (Edit > Project Settings > Input). By default, the field is set to "Submit", and the "Submit" input definition is set to the space bar, return key, and primary joystick button.

If the Dialogue System's Input Device Manager mode is set to keyboard or joystick, it will auto-focus the continue button so the Submit input (e.g., primary joystick button) will be able to click it. If you don't want the space bar to click it, you can remove it from the Submit input definition.

In addition, check the continue button for a UI Button Key Trigger. It's possible that this component has explicitly mapped the space bar as a hotkey for the continue button. If so, you can remove the component.
Post Reply