Multiplayer Quests

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
User avatar
nathanj
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:30 am

Multiplayer Quests

Post by nathanj »

Hi Tony

I'm trying to set up networked quests and am having an issue with the Quest Window. The networked quest is displaying in the Quest Tracker but not in the Detailed Quest Window.

We're using USurvival so we an using Mirror rather than Unity Networking. To get the LUA Network Command component to work I needed to Comment out the USE_UNET symbol.

So, with that in mind is there anything off the top of your head you can think of that would be the culprit?

Also, in the LUA generator for the "Script" field, fields for NetSet... are not added to the drop down menu. How hard would this be to implement? I mean, its easy enough to use the Quest menu and add "NetSet" to the beginning, so no biggie, but if it wasn't too hard it would be nice.


Sorry you have to deal with me learning a whole new set of tools.... :?

Thanks in advance,
Nathan
Last edited by nathanj on Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Nathan,

For uSurvival, replace "using UnityEngine.Networking" with "using Mirror". You may want to keep the "#if USE_UNET", and define the scripting symbol USE_UNET (see below). It shouldn't hurt anything as long as you replace UnityEngine.Networking with Mirror.
nathanj wrote: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:41 pmI'm trying to set up networked quests and am having an issue with the Quest Window. The networked quest is displaying in the Quest Tracker but not in the Detailed Quest Window.
...
So, with that in mind is there anything off the top of your head you can think of that would be the culprit?
Not a clue. They pull quest data from the same source. You can try adding a Lua Console to the Dialogue Manager. After picking up the quest, press ~+L to open the Lua Console. Then type:

Code: Select all

return CurrentQuestState("Your Quest")
It should return a value such as "active", "successful", or "unassigned".
nathanj wrote: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:41 pmAlso, in the LUA generator for the "Script" field, fields for NetSet... are not added to the drop down menu. How hard would this be to implement? I mean, its easy enough to use the Quest menu and add "NetSet" to the beginning, so no biggie, but if it wasn't too hard it would be nice.
I'll add that to the "to-do" list. If the scripting symbol USE_UNET is defined, it will add those to the dropdown menu.
nathanj wrote: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:41 pmAnd finally, in the LUA Networked Command component I noticed that that there are only "Set" commands. I'm guessing that you can't assign conditions based on these networked values then? How do you complete a quest based on variable values? Is this correct?
Use NetSetBool/Number/String to set a variable value on all players. Then you can check the variable value locally since it will be the same for all players.
User avatar
nathanj
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:30 am

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by nathanj »

Tony, you are fast!

Thanks for the response. I'll post an update tomorrow with my progress.

Thank you!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Nathan,

Version 2.0.8 is live on the Asset Store. It adds "NetSet" functions to the Lua Script dropdown wizard.
User avatar
nathanj
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:30 am

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by nathanj »

I saw that. Thanks Tony!

Sorry for the later reply, had a bit of a crazy week with Unity 2018.2.17 going all bonkers with our project.

Think I got everything sorted on the multiplayer quests. Once I get a bit more content done I’m sure I’ll have more questions.

Justvgot Quest Machine, gonna look into setting up all your assets in our project over the next few weeks. Pretty excited we’re finally at an content development stage again!

Thanks again for everything,
Nathan
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks for buying Quest Machine! If you're already making quests with the Dialogue System, you might want to stick with that for this project. Then again, Quest Machine does provide a nicer editor for quests, and of course it can do procedural quests.
User avatar
nathanj
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:30 am

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by nathanj »

Hi Tony,

I havent really looked into this yet but is it possible to run quests through Dialogue System and Quest Machine simultaneously? I was thinking of running quest lines through DS and procedural quests through quest machine - to build out the game play.

Or/and, can you write all the quests in Quest Machine and still use them as conditions in DS?

We’re really starting over so now might be a good time to move the quests from DS to QM.

If this is a complex answer just tell me so and let me get my hands wet a bit before answering.

Thanks again.
Nathan
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by Tony Li »

nathanj wrote: Wed Nov 28, 2018 2:54 pmOr/and, can you write all the quests in Quest Machine and still use them as conditions in DS?
That's the way to do it.

The gotcha with defining some quests in the Dialogue System and some in Quest Machine is that both assets have their own, separate quest UIs. If you want to have one quest window and one quest tracker HUD, you need to define your quests in one asset or the other, not both.

BTW, the Quest Machine video tuts are here: Quest Machine Tutorial Playlist.

#6 is on Dialogue System integration. But it will help to at least skim through #1-5 first.
User avatar
nathanj
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:30 am

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by nathanj »

Awrsome. Thanks.

Ok then, I’m kind of thinking of using QM as the quest system/manager and DS for all dialogue.

Mostly excited about setting up procedural quests.

Thanks again, Nathan
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Multiplayer Quests

Post by Tony Li »

Sounds good! Procedural quests are a whole new beast. The first one is by far the most intimidating to set up. So if you have any questions as you go along, just let me know.
Post Reply