Smooth nodes transition

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Kole90
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:51 am

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Kole90 »

That's exactly what I was looking for, a Max Messages value. Simplifying templates also sounds like a good plan, we tend to overcomplicate things when trying to make them look better, and often forget about the golden rule "Complicated doesn't make it good". Thanks for the help Tony!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
kopanu
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:50 pm

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by kopanu »

Hi, Tony
I have registered because I am just looking to create a chat interface like Subsurface Circular or any messaging application (WhatsApp / Telegram / Messenger ...).

I have seen this example and I would like to ask you if it is compatible with TextMesh Pro or not yet, since I have read that Dialogue System for Unity updated if that allows it.

If there are other examples updated that could be valid or a migration guide to pass the dependencies of UI Text to TextMesh Pro, I also think it would be worth it.

Congratulations for a great job and attention.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The Textline addon (available on the Extras page) uses the Standard Dialogue UI, which means you can enable built-in TextMesh Pro Support.

The Subsurface Similar example (also on the Extras page) currently only supports UI Text, not TextMesh Pro. It shouldn't be too hard to switch it to TextMesh Pro, but you'd have to do open up the ConversationLogUI.cs script and edit it.
Rubakai
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:16 am

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Rubakai »

Hi Tony,

Thanks for all your support on this, the addon is great.

Just a few questions:

1. Is the text scrolling now integrated with the Textline addon as an option?

2. Is it possible to keep all text from all conversations, so it loads all conversation history? Currently it deletes the previous conversations. Do I just need to stop teh conversations from ending?

3. This question is not specific to this issue but with the Textline addon. I am just a bit confused about the scenes. There is a dialogue prefab in the Start scene and the Gameplay scene. Which one should I make changes to if I want to alter the UI? I assume they are the same prefab? I wanted to get it working so I didnt have to go through the start scene to test the gameplay scene but the scene does not get setup correctly if I go straight to the Gameplay scene.

Thanks again for your help.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
Rubakai wrote: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:50 am1. Is the text scrolling now integrated with the Textline addon as an option?
It is as of today's update to the Textline package. You can download the 2018-10-16 version from the Extras page.

This update also includes an optional pre-delay icon. The default icon is a basic, non-animated "..." intended to suggest that the other person is typing. You can change it or remove it.
Rubakai wrote: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:50 am2. Is it possible to keep all text from all conversations, so it loads all conversation history? Currently it deletes the previous conversations. Do I just need to stop the conversations from ending?
See the section in the Textline manual on Multiple Conversations. And, yes, stop the conversations from ending by setting the last node's Sequence to WaitForMessage(Forever).

You may want to limit the amount of text in each conversation's history. Textline uses Unity UI's scroll rect, which struggles when it contains a lot of content. You can set a limit by changing the Textline Dialogue UI component's Max Messages to a non-zero value. (See this post for more info.)
Rubakai wrote: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:50 am3. This question is not specific to this issue but with the Textline addon. I am just a bit confused about the scenes. There is a dialogue prefab in the Start scene and the Gameplay scene. Which one should I make changes to if I want to alter the UI? I assume they are the same prefab? I wanted to get it working so I didnt have to go through the start scene to test the gameplay scene but the scene does not get setup correctly if I go straight to the Gameplay scene.
Choose one to change. When you're satisfied with your changes, click the Inspector's Apply button to apply the changes to the prefab. Since both scenes reference the same prefab, the other scene will receive the same changes.

The Dialogue Manager is configured to survive scene changes. When you play from the Start scene, the Start scene's Dialogue Manager will survive into the Gameplay scene. The Gameplay scene's Dialogue Manager will detect that it's a duplicate and destroy itself to ensure that there's only one.

If you playtest from the Gameplay scene, assuming you've applied the changes to your prefab, it will use the Gameplay scene's Dialogue Manager for that playtest.
User avatar
Kole90
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:51 am

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Kole90 »

Hey Tony, I have an issue regarding this addon again. So if I pause my game during dialogue and then unpause and continue after some time nodes in dialogue start appearing faster, like subtitles chars per seconds was altered, do you have any idea what could be the cause for that? I'm using Adventure Creator for the pausing part, not sure what goes under the hood but I'm guessing it's just

Code: Select all

Time.timeScale = 0
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

I'll investigate this and reply back here later today.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Tony Li »

I haven't been able to reproduce this with the example scene included with the latest Subsurface Similar Example UI package (July 11, 2018). I'm using Unity 2018.1 and a simple script that just toggles Time.timeScale between 1 and 0 on a keypress.

Can you reproduce it with the example scene's UI and dialogue database in Adventure Creator?

If not, would it be possible for you to send a copy of your project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
User avatar
Kole90
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:51 am

Re: Smooth nodes transition

Post by Kole90 »

Can't reproduce it with pause only, but one thing comes to mind. Try making a build with that test scene you made with "Run in background" option turned off, then alt + tab during dialogue and wait for a minute or two and then go back in the game. Sorry for troubling you with this but it messes the gameplay a lot and it seems like the only way I can reproduce it is this with alt + tab. Thanks
Post Reply