Visual Novel style

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
NeoX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:34 pm

Visual Novel style

Post by NeoX »

Hello,
first of all, thx for help on AdventureCreator forum - all is ok now.
https://www.adventurecreator.org/forum/ ... yle#latest

Now I have 2 new questions:
1) I have a simple conversation between person A and B
A: Hi
B: Hello
Now I want to add option 1) Nice shoes 2) Nice hairs
then conversation splits into 2 parts - about hairs or shoes, and then it comes back to one line dialog
There is no options menu, the story goes straight to "nice shoes"
That conversation is very simple, there is no Condition/Script etc. Simple talk...
https://ibb.co/iCTdSp
I can end "new conversation 1" on "Lodan hello" - come back to AC Cutscene, add that two option(options menu will appear)
and connect them again to new conversation 2 and 3.
But I see a problem here - player can't save game when on screen is "option to choose" - limitation on AC

2) and now, how to add a Variable into for example "Nice Hairs" - (points +1), and it is possible to connect them with AdventureCreator GlobalVariables?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by Tony Li »

Hello,
NeoX wrote: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:57 pm1) I have a simple conversation between person A and B
A: Hi
B: Hello
Now I want to add option 1) Nice shoes 2) Nice hairs
then conversation splits into 2 parts - about hairs or shoes, and then it comes back to one line dialog
There is no options menu, the story goes straight to "nice shoes"
The player response menu only appears for lines that are assigned to player actors. First make sure your actor is a player:

Image

Then make sure the conversation is assigned to the player:

Image

I selected Menu > Show > Show All Actor Names to make sure the correct actors are selected for each node.

---
Side note: If the player only has one node, such as the "dialog" node above, the player response will menu still appear, with one response button. If you want to auto-play this node instead, you can put the special tag "[auto]" in the Dialogue Text, or untick the Dialogue Manager's Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu checkbox. Then tick the Dialogue Manager's Subtitle Settings > Show PC Subtitles During Line.

NeoX wrote: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:57 pm2) and now, how to add a Variable into for example "Nice Hairs" - (points +1), and it is possible to connect them with AdventureCreator GlobalVariables?
Bookmark this page: Adventure Creator Support. :-) It will be very helpful.

Make sure you've added an Adventure Creator Bridge component to the Dialogue Manager.

If you would like to use Adventure Creator variables in the Dialogue System, define the variables (with the same name) in the dialogue database:

Image

Whenever a conversation starts, the values from Adventure Creator will be synchronized to the Dialogue System.

Then use them in dialogue entry nodes' Conditions and Script fields. For example, in the screenshot below, I clicked "...". Then I used the dropdowns to specify Set > Variable > Points > Add > 1. Finally, I clicked Apply:

Image

At the end of the conversation, the values from the Dialogue System will be synchronized back to Adventure Creator.
NeoX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by NeoX »

Hi,
thx for answers.
Yes - I figure it out that "player" is missing.
But I have added 3rd "character" - named - OPTION, and marked it Player
https://ibb.co/e9vL7p
Seems to work:)

I have problems with that 2nd question
All is like you said, AC var = DS var, Bridge, Script
https://ibb.co/mVHp09
Also I have added to AC Menu - info about points that will be all the time on screen.
On Start - Points shows "0" - correct
After pass point with var scrip in the conversation - nothing change
At the End of conversation - "0" disappears, should show '5'

You said - that point will synchronize at the end of conv. That's is bad for me :) Need to show player what number of points he has at the moment. Is there any option to do that?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

In the node where you change Points, set the Sequence field to:

Code: Select all

{{default}};
SendMessage(SyncLuaToAdventureCreator,,DialogueManager)
The first line ({{default}}) plays the default sequence, which is defined in the Dialogue Manager's Camera & Cutscene Settings > Default Sequence field. Its initial value just delays for a duration based on the text length.

The second line (SendMessage) immediately synchronizes the Dialogue System's values to Adventure Creator.
NeoX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by NeoX »

Thx Tony,
but still - no effect
Can you see where is a problem?
my setup:
- in AC Var:
Label: Points / Type: String / Value : 0 / Translated - yes / Token [var:1]
- in AC menu - new menu: AC type/ with Label text Points [var:1] <-- thats chagne value on screen( in AC cutscene it works)
-DS - simple new conversation with START and node"points" with script: Variable["Points"] = Variable["Points"] + 5
also with that Sequence
{{default}};
SendMessage(SyncLuaToAdventureCreator,,DialogueManager)
still no effect, and 0 dissaperars after END of DS conv.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by Tony Li »

Looks like you have it almost perfect. Change this line:

Code: Select all

SendMessage(SyncLuaToAdventureCreator,,DialogueManager)
to this:

Code: Select all

SendMessage(SyncLuaToAdventureCreator,,Dialogue Manager)
(Add a space between "Dialogue" and "Manager".)
NeoX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by NeoX »

Nope... still nothing :)
All is set like You said, and still points don't show up.
[deleted]
here you have Exe and Unity project. Can you look at this? Please :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

I'm going to delete the Dropbox link from your post now. I downloaded the project. I'll reply back with an answer soon.
NeoX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by NeoX »

Thx,
ok-it's very base setup-project.
Another question ;)
In Example Project - in "IntroConv" Conversation there are 4 options - each of them load another cutscene from AC.
Sequence is AC(cutscenename) - and it loads that cutscene.

On my project it doesn't work :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Visual Novel style

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Change Points to an Integer variable:

Image

This way you can do math on it, such as add +5. If it's a string, you'll be trying to add the string "0" to +5, which isn't valid.
Post Reply