Articy Import workaround?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
mpillit
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:03 pm

Articy Import workaround?

Post by mpillit »

Im doing my editing in Articy and importing it, all is fine, however some of my nodes have Scene Events. If I go back to Articy to make edits and reimport, Im losing my Scene Events and have to rebuild them each time.

Anyone have ideas on how I might preserve those Scene Events on re-import?

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks,

-M
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

When using external editors such as articy:draft, don't use scene events, which are Unity-only. Instead, use sequencer commands and Script fields (i.e., output pins or instruction nodes in articy).
mpillit
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by mpillit »

Got it, thanks Tony.

-M
mpillit
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by mpillit »

One last question on this, what would be the correct syntax to use to send this to a Visual Scripting Custom or Unity Event?

Im using this

SendMessage(ShowPanel02,CubeSequenceListener);

But am getting a subject is null error.

I really appreciate the time and help you've given me.

Thanks again.

-M
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The second parameter is an optional string value to send to the method. The third parameter is the GameObject name. Try this:

Code: Select all

SendMessage(ShowPanel02, , CubeSequenceListener);
This will run ShowPanel02() on the GameObject named CubeSequenceListener.
mpillit
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by mpillit »

Thanks Tony, that did fix the error but my scriptmachine is not receiving it. Any ideas?
Attachments
Screen.jpg
Screen.jpg (25.95 KiB) Viewed 834 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Since you’re using the Visual Scripting package, consider using the VSEvent() Lua function (in output pin or instruction node) or sequencer command: https://www.pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_ ... ngLuaFuncs
mpillit
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by mpillit »

Thanks for this. Sorry to be dense, but

"If you want to invoke a Visual Scripting Custom Event from a dialogue entry node's Script field, add a Dialogue System Visual Scripting Lua component to the Dialogue Manager."

Im not seeing this component. I just tried entering the the Lua function into the Script box, but it throws an exception. Im assuming it needs the component that Im not able to find.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Please import (double-click) the unitypackage that's in Assets > Plugins > Pixel Crushers > Dialogue System > Third Party Support > Visual Scripting Support.unitypackage.
mpillit
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: Articy Import workaround?

Post by mpillit »

Perfect! Thanks again for your time!
Post Reply