Clear text according to timeline

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
dolven
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2024 6:17 pm

Clear text according to timeline

Post by dolven »

Hello, I would like to know if it is possible to clear the text on the dialog according to the timeline clip.

The text seems to stay on the panel even after the clip has finished.

See attached picture.
Attachments
dialogue.png
dialogue.png (546.6 KiB) Viewed 1529 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Set the conversation's Default Sequence to something like:

Code: Select all

ClearSubtitleText(all)@{{end}}
To override the Dialogue Manager's Default Sequence for a specific conversation, inspect the conversation in the Dialogue Editor. Select Menu > Conversation Properties. Then tick Override Display Settings > Camera Settings.
dolven
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2024 6:17 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by dolven »

Thanks, I ended up using

Code: Select all

WaitForMessage(0); ClearSubtitleText(all)@{{end}}
Which seems to work well.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Sounds good. I take it you're sending the sequencer message "0", maybe as a timeline event. In any case, I'm glad it's working.
dolven
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2024 6:17 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by dolven »

Hi, thanks for the reply, seems I'm still not where I want to be. I assumed WaitForMessage(0) was the way to have the dialogue wait until the next clip. If I don't include this, then the conversation continues regardless of where I have placed the Continue Conversation clips.

I've included screens of before and after at the same timeline position with and without the WaitForMessage(0). However, this seems to present another issue - although the message clears, it seems to clear before the end of the clip in the timeline.

My intent is to play a conversation through without any user interaction and have the start and end points of the clip represent the start and end points of the dialogue visibility, If there's a better approach to all this, I'm all ears :)
Attachments
Conversation Properties
Conversation Properties
conversaion_properties.png (240.13 KiB) Viewed 1483 times
Without WaitForMessage
Without WaitForMessage
no_wait_for_message.png (485.22 KiB) Viewed 1483 times
With WaitForMessage
With WaitForMessage
wait_for_message.png (515.15 KiB) Viewed 1483 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

A Continue Conversation clip is a point-in-time clip. It tells the conversation to continue to the next dialogue entry. The Continue Conversation clip's inspector does have an Update Duration button that attempts to match the clip's visual length in the timeline window to the duration of the sequence, but since sequences can have variable durations, it primarily only looks at any audio clips that you might be playing in the entry's sequence.

Use WaitForMessage(0) to prevent the dialogue entry from continuing on its own, and use ClearSubtitleText(all)@{{end}} to hide the subtitle text after a duration based on the text length and the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Subtitle Settings. If you want to specify exact durations instead of using the special keyword {{end}}, you can do that, too. For example, to show the text for 3.5 seconds:

Code: Select all

WaitForMessage(0); ClearSubtitleText(all)@3.5
dolven
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2024 6:17 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by dolven »

Thanks a lot for that, this has fixed the issue.

I have one final issue though, when I switch the Actor and Conversant in one of the Dialogue Entries, the Conversation stops at that point.
Attachments
dialogue_stops.png
dialogue_stops.png (291.08 KiB) Viewed 1448 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

It might be trying to show that as a response menu. Since there's only one player response, you probably want to show it as a subtitle. Please see: How To: Bypass Response Menu When Player Has One Choice. You can do this on a per-conversation basis by setting the conversation's properties > Override Display Settings.
dolven
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2024 6:17 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by dolven »

Thanks that's all done now, much appreciated for the help.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Clear text according to timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Post Reply