Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22108
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

That's a bug in the Dialogue System's importer, not in Arcweave. Consider not abandoning Arcweave just yet. Would you please send me the text of that Arcweave element? A screenshot of the node is fine, too. I'll send you a patch.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22108
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by Tony Li »

That was entirely my fault -- a bug in the importer, not in Arcweave. This patch should fix it:

DS_ArcweavePatch_2024-11-20.unitypackage
PAVDUP
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2024 11:48 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by PAVDUP »

Thank you for your fast feedback! When I checked that patch and that works well!
I also have questions so I am writing this message.
image.png
image.png (482.96 KiB) Viewed 141 times
1. When I use the If statement as shown below, the actor and conversant are not set properly, so when I click on it, I can see that the person I set as Player is set as Actor. However, the character set in Arcweave is a different character.
image1.png
image1.png (508.7 KiB) Viewed 141 times
2. When entering multiple lines of Sequence like this, no matter how I enter them, they don't go into the Sequence. Is this not possible? (I've tried entering the Sequence one by one, and it does go in.)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22108
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

This patch fixes the first issue (actor assignments):

DS_ArcweavePatch_2024-11-20.unitypackage

I can't reproduce the second issue. As a test, please try a simpler two-line Sequence such as:

Code: Select all

[SEQUENCE: Delay(1)->Message(Done);
Delay(2)@Message(Done)]
Does this import correctly?

Also, be careful with {{default}}@Message(Done). At runtime, the {{default}} keyword will be replaced by the Dialogue Manager's Default Sequence. If the Default Sequence is only one line, it's fine. For example, if the Default Sequence is Delay({{end}}), then:

{{default}}@Message(Done) ---> Delay({{end}})@Message(Done)

However, if the Default Sequence has more than one line:

AudioWait(entrytag);
Delay(5)

Then {{default}}@Message(Done) will be replaced by:

AudioWait(entrytag);
Delay(5)@Message(Done)

In the example above, the AudioWait() command will run immediately. It won't wait for the Done message.
PAVDUP
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2024 11:48 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by PAVDUP »

Thank you for solving issue #1 so quickly!
For issue #2, it was my mistake, and when I processed the example you sent me, I found it works fine, thank you!

Also, the additional advice was something I wasn't paying attention to at all, so thank you for mentioning it.
May I ask if there is a way to wrap everything that exists with the default Sequence, for {{default}}@Message(Done)?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22108
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by Tony Li »

PAVDUP wrote: Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:18 amMay I ask if there is a way to wrap everything that exists with the default Sequence, for {{default}}@Message(Done)?
You can add a Sequencer Shortcuts component to your Dialogue Manager. Example:

shortcutsOnDone.png
shortcutsOnDone.png (67.54 KiB) Viewed 94 times

Then you can include the {{shortcut}} in your sequence, like:

Code: Select all

ShowCharacter(A, 1, 1, 0, default, true)->Message(Done);
{{defaultdone}}
The Dialogue System will replace {{defaultdone}} with the value of the shortcut, so this will become:

Code: Select all

ShowCharacter(A, 1, 1, 0, default, true)->Message(Done);
AudioWait(entrytag)@Message(Done);
Delay(2)@Message(Done)
PAVDUP
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2024 11:48 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by PAVDUP »

Understood! Thank you for your kind response!

I had quite many questions and difficulties, and I really appreciate the answers you gave me, thank you so much!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22108
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Arcweave Problem with assignment operator in arcscript

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Post Reply