Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
mudukke
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2023 4:15 am

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by mudukke »

For the warning it maybe when I jumping between different parts of the dialogue, but I am not sure.

Regarding the script, does this go on the player or the letterbox template? because I am using two different types dialogue panels would I use setactive false to turn off the dialogue when not in use?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22034
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

This is a custom sequencer command, so it just goes anywhere in your Projects view (i.e., Assets folder), and you don't need to add it to any GameObjects.
mudukke
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2023 4:15 am

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by mudukke »

Hi

I added Canvas child GameObject to the Dialogue Manager and instance letterbox ui. Also added UseDialogueUI(InternalDialoguePanel).

However when I play I get this warning
Attachments
2024_11_08_08_40_04_Window.jpg
2024_11_08_08_40_04_Window.jpg (15.73 KiB) Viewed 42 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22034
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by Tony Li »

In the script, try changing this line:

Code: Select all

var ui = DialogueManager.instance.transform.Find(GetParameter(0));
to this:

Code: Select all

var ui = GameObject.Find(GetParameter(0));
This way your UI can be anywhere, not just an active child of the Dialogue Manager's hierarchy.
mudukke
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2023 4:15 am

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by mudukke »

This worked however the subtitles don't appear on the ui and when conversation ends the ui still appears on the screen
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22034
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by Tony Li »

There are any other errors or warnings in the Console window?

Test the Letterbox UI by itself -- for example, by temporarily assigning it to the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Dialogue UI. Make sure it works on its own.
mudukke
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2023 4:15 am

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by mudukke »

This didn't work, when I played, it used a default UI these are warnings I get. I will send a reproduction project to you
Attachments
2024_11_12_10_33_30_DDNC_V3_LevelDesignBlockout_Windows_Mac_Linux_Unity_2022.3.13f1_DX11_.png
2024_11_12_10_33_30_DDNC_V3_LevelDesignBlockout_Windows_Mac_Linux_Unity_2022.3.13f1_DX11_.png (16.88 KiB) Viewed 20 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22034
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue Override multiple UI''s

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks for sending the repro project. I replied to your email with some questions.
Post Reply