Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
OscarS
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2023 1:47 pm

Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Post by OscarS »

Hi! I got a problem when trying to use another Dialogue Panel during a cutscene.

I'm using commands to run a cutscene. And everything works fine.
Bug 1.png
Bug 1.png (17.24 KiB) Viewed 612 times
The problem is when I try to change an actor Subtitle Panel. When I try to do so, for some reason the 2 dialogue panels appear. The default and the custom 1(used for this actor). This happens if:

1.- I use the sequence SetPanel() during conversation
Bug 5.png
Bug 5.png (5.75 KiB) Viewed 612 times
2.- I assign the actor an "actor component" and change the "Subtitule Panel Number" to the custom one.
Bug 2.png
Bug 2.png (32.93 KiB) Viewed 612 times
In both cases I get the same result, both subtitle panels appear
Bug 3.png
Bug 3.png (15.7 KiB) Viewed 612 times
They both are instantiated on the canvas
Bug 4.png
Bug 4.png (9.32 KiB) Viewed 612 times
The Custom Panel for the special actor still appears even when a new actor starts talking


No idea what may be the problem. This is the first time I try to use more than 2 conversants on a conversation.

Thanks in advance!
Bug 6.png
Bug 6.png (13.9 KiB) Viewed 612 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21678
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Try setting the subtitle panels' Visibility dropdowns to Until Superceded.
OscarS
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2023 1:47 pm

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Post by OscarS »

Hi! Thanks for the reply. This solved the problem at the beginning of the conversation. But when a new NPC started talking both subtitle panels appeared.

Just for anyone with a similar problem, I managed to solve it by first hiding the custom panel with HidePanel(1); then setting the dialogue panel to false SetDialoguePanel(false); and then setting it to true SetDialoguePanel(true);. In this way, everything works fine.

Thanks again!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21678
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Did you set both subtitle panels' Visibility to Until Superceded? If so, then when the second subtitle panel appears it should automatically hide the first one.
OscarS
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2023 1:47 pm

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Post by OscarS »

Hi Tony,

yes. I set "Until Superceded" for both panels. The only solution I found is the one described in the previous post.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21678
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

There may be something particular going on with your dialogue UI.

If you're happy with your current solution, we can leave it there.

If you want to get to the bottom of the issue, please send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com along with reproduction steps.
Post Reply