Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
As the title states.
1.) We have dialogue, quest, love hate, Invector, Eadon integrations all set up and working well
When we have a dialouge and set quest node state "X" to true it does not automatically make the next node active..
Is this by design as I thought making a node true automatically makes next node or nodes active?
To get around this having to also through lua make the next nodes active, but that is adding a lot of extra work.
Anything we should check?
1.) We have dialogue, quest, love hate, Invector, Eadon integrations all set up and working well
When we have a dialouge and set quest node state "X" to true it does not automatically make the next node active..
Is this by design as I thought making a node true automatically makes next node or nodes active?
To get around this having to also through lua make the next nodes active, but that is adding a lot of extra work.
Anything we should check?
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
Hi,
If the quest is active, then setting a node true from dialogue should set its child nodes active. Is the quest active?
If the quest is active, then setting a node true from dialogue should set its child nodes active. Is the quest active?
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
Yes they are certainly active. Just for some reason not seeing when a node goes true the next active. This is through dialogues using set node state "X" "X" true
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
Set like this
- Attachments
-
- Tony 1.PNG (4.32 KiB) Viewed 2309 times
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
But some reason it just seems not to activate the next node in line of the quest.
- Attachments
-
- Tony 2.PNG (127.75 KiB) Viewed 2309 times
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
The only way I can get it to work correctly is doing them all like this
- Attachments
-
- Tony 3.PNG (7.2 KiB) Viewed 2308 times
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
Hi,
The current Dialogue System integration uses the Dialogue System convention of the words "unassigned", "active", and "success" for quest/node states, not "true".
This updated version (which will also be in the next QM release) also accepts "true":
QM_DialogueSystemIntegration_2023-08-22.unitypackage
Alternatively, you could change that first line to:
The current Dialogue System integration uses the Dialogue System convention of the words "unassigned", "active", and "success" for quest/node states, not "true".
This updated version (which will also be in the next QM release) also accepts "true":
QM_DialogueSystemIntegration_2023-08-22.unitypackage
Alternatively, you could change that first line to:
Code: Select all
SetQuestNodeState("stableBoyShorted", "speakToStableBoy", "success");
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
Well let me take a look and see if just changing over to success for those will take care of business. I did not realize that. Thank you for your help as always.
I believe and can double check though. Again with all those integrations that when quest is first getting given / assigned that it does not actually activate the first quest node. Can double check though, but believe i was being forced again to Give Quest & Set first node active.
Which again is okay to deal with, just looking at scale and the amount of quests we are planning there is a lot of possilbe missing having to set node active. But again I can double check if that is the case with all of them etc.
I believe and can double check though. Again with all those integrations that when quest is first getting given / assigned that it does not actually activate the first quest node. Can double check though, but believe i was being forced again to Give Quest & Set first node active.
Which again is okay to deal with, just looking at scale and the amount of quests we are planning there is a lot of possilbe missing having to set node active. But again I can double check if that is the case with all of them etc.
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:20 pm
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
Having to set up giving quest like this then activating node.
- Attachments
-
- Tony 1.PNG (5.7 KiB) Viewed 2298 times
Re: Node set to true from dialogue not making next node active
GiveQuest() should set the quest's Start node active.
When the Start node becomes active, it immediately sets itself true, which should cause nodes linked from Start to automatically become active. Are you not seeing that behavior?
When the Start node becomes active, it immediately sets itself true, which should cause nodes linked from Start to automatically become active. Are you not seeing that behavior?