Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Basel
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2022 1:07 pm

Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Post by Basel »

Code: Select all

Coroutine couldn't be started because the the game object 'Basic Standard Quest Tracker HUD' is inactive!
UnityEngine.MonoBehaviour:StartCoroutine (System.Collections.IEnumerator)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.StandardUIQuestTracker:UpdateTracker () (
1) Is there a way I can turn this off so it doesn't give me an error message? I'm not using the quest system.

2) This seems like it started happening because I'm toggling the Dialogue System manager on and off. (Am I not supposed to do that?) I'm triggering the conversation by OnEnable.

Thank you!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21681
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If you're not using the quest system, you can inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject's Instantiate Prefabs component. Remove the Basic Standard UI Quest Tracker and Basic Standard UI Quest Log Window from the Prefabs list.

Try to keep the Dialogue Manager GameObject active. You can put the Dialogue System Trigger on a different GameObject and deactivate that GameObject or just disable the Dialogue System Trigger component.
Basel
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2022 1:07 pm

Re: Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Post by Basel »

Thanks for your reply Tony!
I removed the Dialogue Trigger from the Dialogue Manager itself and put it on another object (the speaker.) For some reason now the Dialogue UI doesn't show up at all now when the conversation is triggered. I'm not sure how to make the UI trigger again with the converation, it seems like the UI is still set in the Initial Database Display Settings as the Dialogue UI and Default Canvas.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21681
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Are you using an Override Dialogue UI component on the speaker, other participant, or the Dialogue Manager?

Are there any errors or warnings in the Console window?

Is it possible that the dialogue UI has opened but it positioned offscreen?

Temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info. Then reproduce the issue. Check the Console to confirm that the conversation is starting.
Basel
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2022 1:07 pm

Re: Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Post by Basel »

I appreciate all the tips.

This is embarrassing on my part, but I'm going to post what actually solved the issue for posterity. OnEnable doesn't work if the game object is already enabled to begin with (enabling it again doesn't trigger the conversation.) :oops:

Thanks again Tony!!!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21681
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Getting an error--I'm not even using the quest system?

Post by Tony Li »

Glad you found the issue!
Post Reply